Voting concludes for Lok Sabha Elections

Lok Sabha elections Voter
Darjeeling (West Bengal):Voters wait in a queue to cast their votes for the second phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal’s Darjeeling, on April 18, 2019.

New Delhi, May 19: Voting in 542 parliamentary constituencies across states and union territories concluded, the election commission said on Sunday.

The 59 Lok Sabha constituencies spanning seven states and a Union Territory went to polls in the final and seventh phase of the mega electoral exercise on Sunday.

As per the poll panel, 7.27 crore people voted in the last phase of polling of which 3.47 crore were women and 3,377 were persons of third gender.

A total electorate of more than 10.1 crore were eligible to cast their ballots in this phase which covers all remaining seats in the three states — Uttar Pradesh (13, including the high-profile Varanasi constituency), Bihar (8) and West Bengal (9) – where polling took place across all seven phases, as well as in Madhya Pradesh (8) and Jharkhand (3) which also witnessed multi-stage voting.

All the 13 constituencies in Punjab, one in Chandigarh, and four in Himachal Pradesh also figure in the last phase.

The 918 candidates in this phase include Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi, Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad who faces actor-politician and sitting MP Shatrughan Sinha (now in the Congress) in Patna Sahib, and actor-turned-politicians Sunny Deol in Gurdaspur (BJP), and Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan, both contesting for the Trinamool Congress (TMC) from Jadavpur and Basirhat, respectively.

Also contesting are Union Ministers Hardeep Singh Puri (Amritsar), Manoj Sinha (Ghazipur), R.K. Singh (Arrah) — all from BJP, Anupriya Patel of Apna Dal (Mirzapur) Harsimrat Kaur from ally Akali Dal in Bathinda and her husband and party President Sukhbir Singh Badal in Ferozepur, former Union Minister Preneet Kaur (Congress) in Patiala, and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad’s eldest daughter Misa Bharti (Patliputra).

Re-polling is also taking place in several booths in parliamentary seats in six states and in Assembly constituencies in two. These seats ares Kerala’s Kannur and Kasargod, Tamil Nadu’s Dharmapuri, Theni, Thiruvallur, Cuddalore and Erode, Haryana’s Faridabad, Uttar Pradesh’s Azamgarh, West Bengal’s Bankura, Andhra Pradesh’s Chittoor parliamentary and Chandgiri Assembly constituencies and 34 Assembly segments in 10 Odisha districts.

Besides this, polling is also being held in bypolls to four Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, two in Karnataka and the Panaji Assembly seat, which fell vacant after death of Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar.

The Lok Sabha elections started on April 11. Counting of votes to take place on May 23.


60.21% voter turnout recorded till 6 pm

Polling in 542 parliamentary constituencies across states and union territories ends

53.03% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm

51.95% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm

39.85% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm

BJP leader Murali Manohar Joshi casts vote

Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh casts Vote

Congress’s candidate from Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency, Shatrughan Sinha casts his vote

Tej Pratap alleges conspiracy to kill him, Files FIR after attack on his car

1st Voter of Independent India Shyam Saran Negi casts vote

Union Minister and BJP leader Ravi Shankar Prasad casts his vote at booth no. 77 in Patna Women’s College

CM Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and TMC leader, Abhishek Banerjee casts his vote

Kolkata North BJP candidate Rahul Sinha casts his vote at polling booth in Bijoygarh Shikshaniketan For Girls, in Jadavpur

Voting underway for by-election to the Sulur assembly constituency

EVM malfunction reported at booth no.6 in Pant Nagar of Patna Sahib

Bihar Deputy CM Sushil Modi casts vote

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar casts vote , says elections should not be held over such a long duration

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath exercises his franchise

People queue up outside polling station no.36, 37, 38 and 39 in Jharkhand’s Dumka Lok Sabha constituency

Visuals from polling booth no.153 in Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha Constituency

Visuals of preparation from polling booth no. 321-325 in Indore’s Nanda Nagar

Visuals from polling booth no.25, 26, 27 at DAV Senior Secondary School in Punjab

Related Posts