Lok Sabha Elections 3rd phase 2019: 64% turnout till 7pm

Solapur Maharashtra Election 2019

April 23: The final voter turnout for the third phase was 64.7 percent while the first two phases had registered 69.45 and 69.43 percent voter turnout.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi posted tweet urging people to vote as the third and largest phase of the Lok Sabha polls was underway to decide the fate of 1640 candidates in 117 parliamentary constituencies across 13 states and two Union Territories. As 23.85% overall voter turnout recorded till 12 pm but Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantmag recorded 4.79% till 11 am.


Assam – 78.73%
Bihar – 59.97%
Goa – 71.34%
Gujarat – 61.42%
J&K – 12.86%
Karnataka – 65.06%
Kerala – 70.33%
Maharashtra – 57.31%
Odisha – 58.18%
Tripura – 78.67%
Uttar Pradesh – 58.57%
West Bengal – 79.36%
Chhattisgarh – 68.01%
Dadra & Nagar Haveli – 71.43%
Daman & Diu – 65.34%

Across India, millions of youngsters are stepping out to vote, many of them for the first time. In their hands lies the future of India. I’m confident that they want NYAY for every Indian and will vote wisely. SHARE this powerful short film with young first time voters,” Rahul Gandhi tweeted.

“Urging all those voting in today’s third phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections to do so in record numbers. Your vote is precious and will shape the direction our nation takes in the years to come,” Modi said in a tweet.

Snake inside VVPAT machine in Kannur

An unusual “visitor” in a polling booth in the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency, held up voting for a brief while Tuesday.

A small snake was found inside a VVPAT machine in a booth at Mayyil Kandakkai in the constitutency, which is witnessing heavy polling, triggering panic among officials and voters.

Social activist Anna Hazare casts his vote in Ralegan Siddhi, Ahmednagar district, Maharashtra.

Karnataka Social Welfare Minister Priyank Kharge and his wife Shruthi Kharge vote in Gundagurti village, which falls under Kalaburagi parliamentary constituency.

Jammu and Kashmir- A special polling station has been set up for Kashmiri Pandits in Udhampur, for Anantnag parliamentary constituency.
The Goa Chief Electoral Officer said that as per District Election Officer (South Goa), all the EVMs have been replaced for Assembly Constituency 34, Polling Station No 31.

Poll violence hits West Bengal. Three TMC workers received injuries as a crude bomb was hurled at them. The incident took place in Domkal municipality in Murshidabad.

Congress leader and Thiruvananthapuram candidate Shashi Tharoor casts his vote. He has been pitted against BJP’s Kummanam Rajasekaran and LDF’s C Divakaran.

In Gujarat, Heeraben Modi, the mother of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, casts her vote in Raisan, Ahmedabad.

BJP president Amit Shah and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and several Union ministers among prominent candidates are in the fray.

Voting is taking place for all 26 constituencies in Gujarat, all 20 seats in Kerala, 14 each in Maharashtra and Karnataka, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Chhattisgarh, six in Odisha, five each in Bihar and West Bengal, four in Assam, two in Goa, one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Tripura.

Over 18.85 crore voters will decide the fate of 1640 candidates Tuesday. The voting will start from 7 am Tuesday morning and is likely to continue till 6 pm across 2.10 lakh polling booths, with the exception of a few constituencies.

Moradabad: BJP workers beat an Election Official at booth number 231 alleging he was asking voters to press the ‘cycle’ symbol of Samajwadi party

While BJP’s Amit Shah is making his Lok Sabha election debit from Gujarat’s Gandhinagar, Congress president Rahul Gandhi is contesting from Kerala’s Wayanaud, which is his second seat apart from family bastion Amethi in Uttar Pradesh.

Other key candidates include Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, who is contesting from Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh and his brother Shivpal Yadav, who is contesting as Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) candidate from Firozabad. Supriya Sule, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) president Sharad Pawar’s daughter, is contesting from Baramati in Maharashtra.

Congress veterans Mallikarjun Kharge and Shashi Tharoor and BJP’s Anantkumar Hegde and Sambit Patra.

The bare-knuckle match between Azam Khan (Samajwadi Party) and Jaya Prada (BJP) in western Uttar Pradesh’s Rampur is also due today.

Related Posts