Connect with us


Live: UPpolls2017: Priyanka, Rahul rally: UP need not adopt for development, each youth is capable here



Rae Bareli, February 17: Amid ongoing Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra addressed an election rally in Raebareli today.

Congress’ star campaigner for Uttar Pradesh, Priyanka took a jibe at Modi for his adopted son Remark and slammed Modi’s claim that UP has adopted him.

She said, for the development of Uttar Pradesh, it need not adopt anyone.

Slamming PM’s remark, Priyanka said: Each youth of UP can become a leader and develop the state.

Launching a scathing attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi raised voice for farmers once again. He said, PM Modi promises to waive off loans of farmers as BJP forms government in Uttar Pradesh. But UPA waived off loan without being in power in UP.

As election approaches, Modi ji recalls farmers, said Rahul at Raebareli.

He further said Modi ji could not fulfill his poll promises made in Varanasi, including those of making Bhojpuri film city and cleanliness of the Ganga river.

Prime Minister Modi has snatched off your food park, the source of employment for you. He has snatched ‘Made in Raebareli‘ as he wanted to take a revenge, said Rahul.

Slamming Centre‘s demonetisation drive, Rahul said note ban has massively hurt small businesses, shop keepers and farmers.

So, far the absence of Priyanka, who is a great crowd puller had reportedly been missed by the Party cadres, especially in the family bastion of Amethi-Rae Bareli. She has been in command for poll campaigns in Amethi and Raebareli for over a decade now.

Congress is contesting on all 10 Assembly seats in Raebareli and Amethi. In 2012, Priyanka had held more than 100 public meetings and road shows in 10 Assembly seats of this region.

Read More: UP elections 2017: Priyanka to campaign with Rahul in Raebareli today

Wefornews Bureau


Madhya Pradesh By-Polls: Set back to BJP, Congress bags 20 wards of 24 in Raghogarh



Bhopal, Jan 20: The Congress party showcased an enthusiastic fight in the Madhya Pradesh civil polls by clinching nine president posts in 19 civic bodies on Saturday, tying the Bharatiya Janata Party, which too, won nine top posts. 

Meanwhile, giving a major setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress bagged 20 out of 24 wards in Raghogarh Nagar by-elections. Whereas the BJP won only four wards.

However , the Congress has been in control of the Raghogarh-Vijaypur Municipal Council for the last two decades.

The results are seen as a morale boost for the Congress as the party is planning to go all out against the BJP in the upcoming assembly elections , which slated to held later this year.

Municipal Council elections took place on January 17 in Five districts – Dhar, Barwani, Khandwa, Guna, and Anuppur.

The counting of votes begun at 9 am and ended in the afternoon.


Continue Reading


EVMs to have candidates’ pictures




Jaipur, Jan 19: The Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will carry pictures of candidates along with their names — when by-elections are held in Rajasthan on January 29.

According to Chief Election Officer Ashvini Bhagat, this has been done to ensure there was no confusion if there were two candidates with the same name.

According to the new arrangement, the EVMs will have the name of the candidate, his or her picture and the election symbol.

Bhagat said although this experiment was done in the Dholpur Assembly by-election, it hasn’t been done anywhere in a Lok Sabah election.

Lok Sabha by-polls are scheduled in Ajmer and Alwar on January 29 while Assembly elections will be held the same day in Mandalgarh.


Continue Reading


Assembly elections: Tripura to vote on Feb 18, Meghalaya, Nagaland on Feb 27; results on March 3



New Delhi, Jan 18: The Election Commission on Thursday announced  the schedule for Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland assembly elections. 

While addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti said Tripura will vote on February 18, 2017. While polling in Meghalaya and Nagaland will take place on February 27 (Tuesday).

Counting for all the three states will be conducted on March 3, 2018. The results will be declared on the same day.

A total strength of  the three assemblies is 60 members each.

Election to the three states to be held in two rounds.

The term of the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura legislative assemblies will end on March 6, March 13 and March 14 respectively.

Announcing the poll schedule, Chief Election Commissioner informed  VVPATs and EVMs will be used in the three states for the very first time.


Continue Reading

Most Popular