Live: Nasim Zaidi announces Assembly elections dates


Election Commission of India on Friday  announced the schedule for assembly polls in five states – Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry and model code of conduct comes into force with immediate effect.

“Elections will be held in 824 assembly constituencies in the 5 states. The counting day for all 5 states is May 19,” chief election commissioner Nasim Zaidi said during a press conference.

Elections will be held from April 4,2016 to May 16,2016 in all 5 states  and Counting of votes for all states to be on 19th May

.The terms of these five assemblies will end in April and May.

The Model Code of Conduct will be enforced with immediate effect and the governments of the poll-bound states as well as the Centre would not be able to announce any new schemes or programmes that may influence the voters.

Assam elections in two phases from April 4,2016

Voters: 1.98 crore

Polling botths: 25000

Phases: 2

Assam elections will be held in two phases and first phase will be held on 4Th April  for 65 constituencies |

Second will be on 11th April 2016 61 constituencies..

Assam has 126 assembly constituencies.The BJP is expected to emerge as largest party in Assam, where the Tarun Gogoi government is in power.

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has tied up with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Chief MInister Tarun Gogoi is facing 15 years of anti-incumbency.

Tamil Nadu has 234 assembly constituencies

West Bengal elections  in 6 phases

Voters: 6.55 crore

Polling booths: 77247

Constituencies: 294

Phases: 6

Six phase of elections will be held for 293 assembly constituencies in West Bengal

First phase of West Bengal elections on April 4,2016

Second Phase of WEst Bengal elections on April 11,2016

Third Phase of West Bengal elections on April 17,2016

Fourth Phase of West Bengal elections on 21

Fifth Phase of West Bengal elections on 25,2016

Sixth Phase of West Bengal elections on April 30,2016

In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress will make a comeback. In Tamil Nadu, chief minister Jayalalitha will fight DMK-Congress aliance.

Kerala elections will be held in One phase
Kerala has 140 assembly constituencies and elections will be held in one phase .

Puducherry has 30 constituencies  polls to take place in one phase, date of polling is 16th May

Tamil Nadu polls to take place in one phase, date of polling is 16th May. Tamil Nadu has 234 constituencies

More than adequate central paramilitary forces to be deployed. As far as possible, in WB and Assam, all polling locations to be monitored by Central Police Forces: CEC

5 central observers in each district to oversee election process. An effective monitoring of preventive actions against anti social elements commences today: CEC

Will ensure that no one is prevented from expressing their mandate by way of intimidation or such means: CEC
Over 17 crore voters will exercise their franchise in 824 constituencies.

The terms of the five assemblies are ending in April and May.

New voters can be enrolled until 10 days from the last date of nomination, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said in New Delhi.

The Election Commission will be setting up special polling station at leprosy treatment centres this time.

For the first time a symbol for NOTA is being provided, which is designed by NID, Ahmedabad.

Related Posts