Karnataka Live : Entire country should know who is behind destabilising Congress-JDS govt, Says Kumaraswamy

Bengaluru, July 18 : Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy moved the trust motion in the assembly with a scathing attack on BJP and the rebel Congress-JDS MLAs and asked Yedurappa why is the BJP leader in a hurry to get with the trust vote. He further said, “want to bring it to the notice of the entire country, who is behind the destabilising this government again and again.”

” Today this coalition government is suffering from challenges and we want to face them. My father was also the chief minister of the state. There were political compulsions at that time as well. You were the Speaker at that time as well and you handled the matter in an objective way. It is my fortune that you are the Speaker in my trying times too,” Kumaraswamy said.

CM HD Kumaraswamy in Vidhana Soudha, said, ” I haven’t come just because there is a question on whether I can run a coalition government or not. Events have shown that even the role of the Speaker has been put under jeopardy by some legislators.”

“Many MLAs said they are happy with my functioning. Some may have lost respect but i still have shame and self respect,” he says.

Congress MLAs, who were camping at a resort near Bengaluru, were supposed to leave for the Vidhana Soudha at 10.00 am.

Karnataka trust vote live updates

Two Independent MLAs (R Shankar and H Nagesh), Congress MLAs Nagendra B and Srimant Patil and BSP MLA Mahesh are absent from the Assembly, reports suggest.
Congress’ Siddaramaiah recalled an incident when a MLA had defected political parties thrice in a single day.

Lone BSP MLA N Mahesh is not present in the Assembly. He had earlier hinted that he would abstain from the proceedings.

HD Kumaraswamy: Many MLAs have said that they are happy with my functioning.

Section 144 has been imposed around Vidhana Soudha – the legislative complex – in Bengaluru, ahead of the trust vote.

Kumaraswamy will move the confidence motion in the Legislative Assembly at 11.00 am today and the discussion on the vote of confidence will start . BJP has expressed confidence that they have the numbers and that the ruling coalition government would collapse.

This will be the third motion on trust vote in the Assembly after the fractured mandate in the 2018 elections.Senior Congress legislator R. Ramalinga Reddy hinted at withdrawing his resignation. Armed with the Supreme Court order, the rebel lawmakers camping in Mumbai and cammot be compelled to participate in the proceedings of the house and said there was no question of stepping back on their resignations or attending the session

The coalition government is hoping that more MLAs would turn up in the Assembly to cast their vote in favour of the 14-month-old coalition government that is on the verge of imminent collapse.

Meanwhile, CM Kumaraswamy on Wednesday issued whip to all 37 MLAs of JD(S) including three rebel legislators Narayana Gowda, Gopalaiah and H Vishwanath to remain present in the Assembly at the time of trust vote.

The CM further warned the rebel MLAs saying that if they do not attend the House and vote against the party whip even after attending the session on the day of trust voting, strict action will be taken as per Anti-Defection Law.

The Congress has termed the Supreme Court order as “bad judgment” saying that it seemed to protect the defectors and encourage horse-trading.

“We are confident of facing and winning the floor test, as our leaders have been trying their best to get as many of the 13 legislators who resigned from the Assembly. With Reddy agreeing to withdraw, we hope more will follow,” Congress spokesman Ravi Gowda told .

Two Independents, who resigned and agreed to support the BJP are problematic to the coalition. In the 225-member Assembly, before the resignations poured in, the Congress has 79, including the Speaker, Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) 37, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 105, Independents 2, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 1 and nominated 1.

With the support of the two independents, the opposition BJP has 107 legislators.With 113 as the halfway mark for simple majority, the ruling combine had 119 before the crisis began on July 1.If the resignations of the 15 legislators are accepted, the ruling coalition’s tally will plummet to 101 .

Related Posts