Karnataka Election 2018: 70% voter turnout recorded till 6 pm

Bengaluru, May 12: Amid tight security and heightened vigil, the high-stakes Karnataka Assembly elections saw a 70 percent voter turnout till 6 pm on Saturday, said the Election Commission.

During the early hour of voting, there were reports of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) malfunctioning in some booths; power crisis in a polling station in Rajajinagar seat; voters names missing at few booths and women clad in burqa made to reveal their faces at a Belagavi polling booth — that caused few hiccups.

Till 6  pm, 70 % voting took place said the poll panel, according to ANI report.

Addressing a press conference in Delhi, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha claimed that the figure is likely to increase, as polling is still underway in some areas.

“Except few polling stations, where people are still standing in line to vote, polling has been completed in almost all polling stations. As of now, the total turnout figure received is 70 percent. However, we expect this number to increase, and hope it surpasses that of the previous elections,” he said.

“Peaceful polling is being held in 222 of the 224 constituencies, including 36 segments reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SC), 15 for Scheduled Tribes (ST) under tight security,” an official told IANS here.

Voting in Bengaluru’s Raja Rajeshwari Nagar segment has been postponed to May 28 over fake voter ID cards row and countermanded in the city’s Jayanagar seat following the demise of BJP contestant B.N. Vijaya Kumar on May 4.

As per the reports, the southern state has more than 5.07-crore electorate, including 2.62-crore men and 2.5-crore women.

A total of 2,654 candidates are in the fray. Over 15 lakh people are first-time voters in the 18-19 age group.

Voting is taking place in 58,008 polling stations of 30 districts across Karnataka, out of which 600 of them are pink booths, manned by all-women personnel, and 28 ethnic booths.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded 223 candidates, while the ruling Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) have fielded 222 and 201 seats respectively.

Updates :

Till 6  pm, 70 % voting took place

Re-polling to be held in Hebbal assembly constituency

Re-polling to take place in Hebbal assembly constituency’s Polling Station Number 2 after polling was stopped due to EVM failure, news agency ANI reported.

Polling booth No.s 142, 143 and 144 in Tippu Nagar saw less turnout of voters

Polling booth No.s 142, 143 and 144 in Tippu Nagar witness less turnout of voters. Locals say, ‘turnout is low as many residents are out of the district due to lack of employment here.

Till 5 pm, 61. 25 % voting took place

Till 3 pm, 56% voting took place

Karnataka CM hits out at BJP President Amit Shah

“This Amit Shah is like a comedy show and Narendra Modi’s image has drastically declined, his speeches are completely hollow and have made no impact on the voters of Karnataka. Therefore we are not worried”, said Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah.

Groom Mallikarjun Gamangatti and bride Nikhita Jodi votes 

Former Foreign Minister and BJP leader SM Krishna casts his vote

Visuals of voters from Dharwad

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah casts vote in Chamundeshwari

37% voter turnout till 1 pm

BJP’s B.Sriramalu casts vote in Bellary

Visuals of Voters outside a polling booth in Sadashiv Nagar

Shivakumara Swami of Siddaganga Matha casts vote in Tumakuru

Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge casts  vote in Basavanagar

People expressed confidence in Congress government says, Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah’s Son Dr Yatheendra

Dr Yatheendra, a Congress candidate from Varuna constituency and son of Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah, said ” I have been visiting villages in the constituency for last 1 and half years. Election campaigning didn’t feel any different. Wherever I went, people expressed confidence in Congress government.

Congress’ Ashok Gehlot takes a dig at Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Congress leader Ashok Gehlot took a jibe at Prime Minister Narendra Modi saying “As there is model code of conduct in Karnataka, PM Modi planned to pray at temples in Nepal instead, just to influence voters.This is not a good trend for democracy.

“Why did he only choose today as the day?”, he asked.

HD Kumaraswamy, wife Anitha caste their vote

24% voter turnout recorded till 11 am

BJP will not win more than 60-70 seats, says Congress’s Mallikarjun Kharge

We are confident. BJP will not win more than 60-70 seats maximum, forget getting 150. They are just dreaming of forming the Government, said Congress leader  Mallikarjun Kharge.

Mysuru’s erstwhile royal Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar casts his vote

10.6% voting took place till 9 am

Karnataka Minister KJ George cast his vote in Bengaluru

Former Prime Minister H. D. Deve Gowda casts his vote in Hassan’s Holenarasipura town

Visuals of voters from Ramnagar

Faulty Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machine replaced in Hubbali booth, voting yet to resume

Visuals from booth number 172 in BTM constituency

Congress President Rahul Gandhi tells Karnataka to embrace festival of democracy

Taking to Twitter, Congress president Rahul Gandhi said Karnataka should embrace the greatest festival of democracy by voting.

Welcoming the first time voters, he stated that the high voter turnout is a sign of dynamic democracy. His message today was in Kannada.

Visuals from booth number 159-159 in Gulbarga South

People queue up at polling booth number 144 in Badami constituency, where CM Siddaramaiah is contesting against BJP’s B.Sriramulu

People votes at a polling booth in Dommasandra B Munireddy School, BTM constituency

Voters arrive to cast their vote in Puttur

PM Modi calls on youth to ‘enrich festival of democracy’

“Urging my sisters and brothers of Karnataka to vote in large numbers today. I would particularly like to call upon young voters to vote and enrich this festival of democracy with their participation”, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted.

Union Minister, BJP leader Sadananda Gowda votes 

BJP Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa casts votes


Related Posts