Karnataka Cabinet expansion today, 17 Congress, 9 JDS MLAs to take oath

Karnataka Cabinet, Kumaraswamy, Parmeshwara
Image: PTI

Bengaluru, June 6: The first phase of Karnataka Cabinet expansion of JD(S)-Congress coalition government is all set to take place on Wednesday.

According to India Today report, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s Janata Dal (Secular) will have nine MLAs inducted into the cabinet while the Congress, which has more seats in the Karnataka assembly, will get to see 17 of its MLAs in the group of ministers.

Congress’ DK Shivakumar, KJ George and Priyank Kharge to take oath as Karnataka ministers today, among others.

As per the portfolio allocation on June 1, Congress got 22 ministerial berths and JDS attained 12.

The Congress was allocated Home, Irrigation, Health, Agriculture and Women Child Welfare ministries, while JDS agreed with Finance and Excise, Public Works Department, Education, Tourism and Transport ministries.

Both the parties had a post-poll alliance after the Karnataka Assembly Polls this year threw up a fractured verdict, with the BJP emerging as the single largest party, but fell short of the majority.

Even though the Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invited the saffron party  to form the government with a time period of 15 days to prove their majority on the floor of the house, the Supreme Court in an interim order directed the floor test to be held in just two days, even after Yeddyurappa had sworn in as the Chief Minister of the state.

Failed to garner the required number of votes to form Government in the state, Yeddyurappa resigned as the Chief Minister ahead top court-ordered floor test on May 19.

Janata Dal (Secular) leader took oath as Karnataka Chief Minister at Vidhana Soudha in the presence of UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi on May 23.

Alongside Kumaraswamy, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) Chief G. Parameshwara sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

However, ending a 10-day political turmoil in the southern state, Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy won the floor test after 117 MLAs voted in his favour.


Related Posts