Karnataka cabinet expansion: 17 MLAs sworn in


Bengaluru, Aug 20 : Balancing caste and regional equations, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa expanded his Cabinet by inducting 17 MLAs after approved by BJP national president Amit Shah.

A maximum Cabinet positions has gone to Lingayats, the largest community in Karnataka. There are 37 Lingayat MLAs out of 105-member BJP MLAs.

The names of the members are Govind Makthappa Karajol, Ashwath Narayan CN, Laxman Sangappa Savadi, KS Eshwarappa, R Ashoka, Jagadish Shettar, B Sreeramalu, S Suresh Kumar, V Somanna, CT Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, Kota Shrinivas Poojari, JC Madhu Swamy, Chandrakantagouda Channappagouda Patil, H Nagesh, Prabhu Chauhan and Jolle Shashikala Annasaheb.
Yediyurappa has forwarded the names of his new Cabinet members to Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala.

The BJP government has already been under attack by the opposition parties over delay in the constitution of the Cabinet.

The Karnataka unit of the Congress party had earlier tweeted, “Is this what the BJP means by ‘minimum government’? A cabinet without cabinet ministers? Will @BSYBJP wake up and stop our state from being mocked across the country? Karnataka needs a government. If @BSYBJP can’t form one, he should step down.”

Yediyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on July 26. He had formed the government in the state after toppling HD Kumaraswamy-led JDS-Congress government through a trust vote.

Related Posts