J&K cabinet reshuffle: Kavinder Gupta takes oath as Deputy Chief Minister

Kavinder Gupta

Srinagar, April 30: Jammu and Kashmir assembly speaker Kavinder Gupta on Monday took oath as the deputy Chief Minister in the PDP-BJP government led by Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti. 

The other newly inducted leaders are Satpal Sharma, as BJP state unit chief, as a cabinet minister along with new faces Rajiv Jasrotia, Sunil Kumar Sharma, Devender Kumar Maniyal and Shakti Raj Parihar.

Earlier in a day, Speaking to news agency ANI, Kavinder Gupta said “Party gave me a responsibility to bring in change after 3 yrs. I’ll try my best to meet expectations of people and work for Jammu, Kashmir & Ladakh. We had entered into alliance, following people’s mandate. I hope it keeps working for them”.

The Governor of Jammu and Kashmir NN Vohra administered the oath of office and secrecy to those being inducted into the Mehbooba Mufti cabinet.

The PDP dropped its senior leader Abdul Haq Khan, the Law and Rural Development Minister, from the cabinet. Muhammad Khalil Bandh and Muhammad Ashraf Mir, MLAs from Pulwama and Srinagar, took oath as cabinet ministers.

As part of the reshuffle, Deputy Cheif Minister Nirmal Singh announced his resignation on late Sunday, paving the way for Speaker Kavinder Gupta to take the position.

“It was the decision of the party to change roles. Keeping in line with that decision I stepped down. The govt has worked well for three years. I am sure they will perform very well”, said Former Deputy CM Jammu And Kashmir Nirmal Singh.

The BJP had been under pressure after two of its ministers – Lal Singh and Chander Prakash Ganga – took part in a rally in support of those accused in the alleged rape and murder of an eight-year-old girl in Kathua.


Related Posts