JD(U), RJD dares Union Minister to change name of Bakhtiyarpur

Giriraj Singh
Union Minister Giriraj Singh, File Photo

Patna, Oct 22: Bhartiya Janata Party ally Janata Dal (United) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal on Monday attacked BJP leader and Union Minister Giriraj Singh, who sought renaming of Bakhtiyarpur in Patna. 

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) is ruling Bihar in alliance with the saffron party.

Giriraj has demanded that Bakhtiyarpur and other towns and cities in Bihar named after Muslim invaders be rechristened, as is being done in Uttar Pradesh.

Yogi Adityanath led BJP government in UP has renamed the Mughalsarai Railway Junction as Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay Junction, and recently changed the name of Allahabad city to Prayagraj.

Bakhtiyarpur is named after Bakhtiyar Khilji – the military general of Qutb-ud-Aibak – who destroyed the noted Nalanda University in late 12 century.

JD(U) spokesperson Sanjay Singh said: “There is no question of change of name of any district or town in Bihar.”

Singh, a close aide of Nitish Kumar, dared Giriraj to change the name of Bakhtiyarpur.

Meanwhile, RJD leader Bhai Virender said “Who is Giriraj Singh to change the name of Bakhtitarpur or any district of Bihar”.

Giriraj Singh is a BJP Lok Sabha member from  Nawada constituency of Bihar, and is a Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprises.


Related Posts