Javadekar’s promotion: 19 ministers induct as new faces in Modi Cabinet


In a wake to not leave any stone unturned in Assembly polls which are due next year and to make the cabinet more strong, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday is all set to reshuffle his council of ministers for the induction of 19 new faces into the Union cabinet.

The top four portfolios that are unlikely to be touched are home, finance, external affairs and defence, government sources said.

A energise talk session is scheduled after the oath taking ceremony of the new ministers at Rashtrapati Bhawan, where the function begins at 11am.

However, Prime Minister Modi will meet them at a cabinet meeting in the afternoon.



  • Dr Subhash Ramrao Bhamre takes oath as the Minister of state at the President’s House in Delhi.
  • Lok sabha MP from Pali (Rajasthan) PP Chaudhary takes oath as Cabinet of Ministers.
  • CR Chaudhary sworn in as the Minister of State at the President’s House in Delhi.


  • Anupriya Singh Patel, Lok Sabha MP from Mirzapur (Uttar Pradesh) sworn-in as MoS.
  • Mansukh Mandaviya takes oath as the Minister of state in presence of President.


  • Lok Sabha MP from Shahjahanpur (UP) Krishna Raj takes oath, she is a first time  Dalit leader from Uttar Pradesh. She has also been a two termm MLA from UP.
  • Ajay Tamta, Lok Sabha MP from Almora (Uttarakhand) sworn-in at Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi.
  • Mahendra Nath Pandey and Jasvant Singh Bhabhor gets inducted in Cabinet of Ministers.


  • Arjun Ram Meghwal takes oath as the Minister of State at Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi.
  • MJ Akbar gets inducted in Cabinet of Ministers.
  • Purshottam Ropala gets inducted in the Cabinet of Ministers.
  • Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh Anil Madhav Dave takes oath.
  • BJP Lok Sabha MP from Assam Rajen Gohain gets inducted in the councils of ministers.
  • Vijay Goel sworn in as the Minister of state at the President’s House in Delhi.
  • BJP Lok Sabha MP from Karnataka Ramesh Jigajinagi takes oath as Minister in presence of President Pranab Mukherjee.
  • BJP Lok Sabha MP from West Bengal SS Ahluwalia swear-in as Cabinet Minister.


  • Ramdas Athawale, the Rajya Sabha MP from Maharashtra, said he was proud to fulfil BR Ambedkar’s dream of upliftment of Dalits and the poor.
  • Union Minister Prakash Javadekar inducted in the Council of Ministers.


  • I am proud that I will be a part of the development vision of PM Modi: Mansukh L Mandaviya.

FS Kulaste-wefornews

  • Whatever responsibility I get,will fulfil it to best of my ability:  BJP MP from Mandla FS Kulaste.
  • Our priority would be to work for the people and address key issues related to farmers, Mandla FS Kulaste added.
  • However, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj skipped the occasion due to a prior diplomatic engagement – a meeting with the visiting Hungarian Foreign Minister. External Affairs Minister tweeted as she is unable to join the ceremony:

She also told media that:

According to sources, five Ministers of State were also dropped ahead of the swearing in.

The five ministers dropped are: Sanwar Lal Jat (Water Resources), Nihalchand (Panchayati Raj), Ram Shankar Katheria (HRD), Mansukh Bhai Vasava (Tribal Affairs) and Mohanbhai Kundaria (Agriculture).

With the induction of the 19 and the dropping of the five MoS, the strength of Prime Minster’s Council of Ministers, including himself now stands at 78.

Wefornews Bureau


Related Posts