J&K municipal polls: Congress ahead in Valley, BJP front runner in Jammu


Jammu/Srinagar, Oct 20: The counting of votes in the Jammu and Kashmir municipal elections was concluded on Saturday with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging as the largest party in the Jammu and the Congress doing good in the Kashmir Valley.

In the Jammu province that includes the districts of Jammu, Samba, Kathua, Reasi, Doda, Kishtwar, Ramban, Udhampur, Poonch and Rajouri, the BJP candidates attained victory in 212 wards, the Congress 110, National Panthers Party 13 and Independents 185.

In the Valley, with Srinagar, Baramulla, Kupwara, Badgam, Anantnag, Pulwama, Shopian, Kulgam, Bandipora and Ganderbal as its districts, the Congress won 79 wards, the BJP 75, independents 71, Peoples Conference two and others two.

In Leh, the Congress clinched the elections winning all the 13 seats while in Kargil, the Congress bagged six and Independents seven wards.

Independent candidates backed by former minister and Peoples Conference Chief Sajad Gani Lone grabbed all the 13 seats in the Handwara municipal committee polls in Kupwara.

The candidate names in the Valley were made public by the election office only on the declaration of results due to the security reasons.

Amid heavy security, the counting of votes for the Jammu and Kashmir municipal elections began at 8 a.m.

For the Srinagar municipal corporation, the counting took place at the Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre (SKICC) in Srinagar, while for the Jammu municipal corporation it held at the Polytechnic Institute near Bikram Chowk.

The counting for other districts of the state, is being held at the respective district headquarters.

Recently concluded municipal elections that took place in the state after 13 years, were held in four phases, covering 79 municipal bodies with an electorate of about 17 lakh electors.


EC announces the result 

“In Jammu Municipal Board there are 75 wards and BJP won 43 seats, Indian National Congress won 14 seats&Independent candidates won 18 seats. In municipal committees there are 7 wards of them BJP has won 2 seats,INC has won 4 seats&independent candidate won 1 seat”, Election Commission

Indian National Congress won Ganie Mohalla,Khanpora, Wahadatpora, Bazar Mohalla, Karipora and Kharpora municipal wards. The Bharatiya Janata Party clinched Narispora, Housing colony Ompora, Dobi Mohalla and Mohanpora municipal wards, in Budgam, ANI reported.

Visuals from a counting centre in Udhampur

Visuals from a counting centre in Doda

Related Posts