IPL Qualifier 2: Delhi to fight for final berth against Chennai today

csk vs dc
Visakhapatnam, May 9: Riding high on confidence, Delhi Capitals will aim to make it to their first IPL final when they take on Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Qualifier 2 of the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League at the ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium on Friday.

The Delhi-based franchise have never made it to IPL final and thus would be eager to come out with yet another inspirational performance and set up a summit clash with the Mumbai Indians.

The young Delhi side, which have been magnificent in this IPL edition, defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in a nail-biting Eliminator on Wednesday. After restricting SRH to 162, Delhi eventually crossed the line with two wickets in hand in the final over of their chase.

Prithvi Shaw scored a brisk half century against the Orange Army and the Delhi management would be ecstatic now that their second opener is also amongst the runs.

However, Shreyas Iyer would be wary of the fact that they cannot take CSK lightly even though the defending champions were completely outplayed in the first qualifier.

“We’re definitely not going to be intimidated by any team. Looking forward to the next game,” Iyer had said after the SRH game.

Against Mumbai Indians, the Yellow Brigade was found wanting against the spin trio of Rahul Chahar, Krunal Pandya and Jayant Yadav. Despite having loads of experience, the CSK batters were not able to score freely and were restricted to a meagre 131 which Mumbai chased down with ease.

What goes in Delhi’s favour is their fearless brand of cricket which they have displayed throughout this season and their fans would be hoping for another such performance against CSK.


Chennai Super Kings: Harbhajan Singh, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Karn Sharma, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis, Deepak Chahar, Mohit Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Dhruv Shorey, Scott Kuggeleijn, Monu Kumar, Mitchell Santner, Chaitanya Bishnoi, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif

Delhi Capitals: Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Jalaj Saxena, Trent Boult, Chris Morris, Hanuma Vihari, Bandaru Ayyappa, Axar Patel, Ankush Bains, Shreyas Iyer (c), Rahul Tewatia, Avesh Khan, Jagadeesha Suchith, Nathu Singh, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul, Prithvi Shaw, Manjot Kalra, Sherfane Rutherford

Related Posts