IPL 2019: Dhoni, Bravo shine as Chennai beat Rajasthan by 8 runs

CSK Dhoni

Chennai, April 1: Chennai Super Kings registered their 3rd successive win of the tournament, beating Rajasthan Royals by 8 runs in the 12th match of IPL 2019 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on Sunday.

Batting first, Chennai posted a challenging 175/5, powered by Dhoni’s undefeated 75 which rescued the hosts from a difficult situation.

Dhoni and Suresh Raina (36) added 61 runs for the fourth wicket after which Jaydev Unadkat dismissed Raina for 36 off 32 balls.

Dhoni then took charge with some clean hitting, reaching his fifty off 39 balls. Dwayne Bravo also played a quickfire cameo, scoring 27 off 16 balls. Bravo and MS Dhoni added 56 runs for the 5th wicket. Dhoni smashed Jaydev Unadkat for 3 successive sixes in the last over to help CSK post a competitive total of 175 for 5. The CSK skipper remained not out on 75 off 46 balls.

The Chennai bowlers then put in a disciplined effort to restrict Rajasthan Royals to 167/8.

Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir and Dwayne Bravo claimed two wickets each.

Chasing 176, Rajasthan got off to a poor start, losing the wicket of Rahane in the very first over itself. Sanju Samson and Jos Buttler were then dismissed in quick succession as the Royals found themselves in a spot of bother at 14 for 3.

Rahul Tripathi played some lovely strokes and put the pressure back on the CSK bowlers. At the end of 6 overs, Rajasthan Royals were 45 for 3. After the powerplay, Tripathi continued to play attacking strokes while Steve Smith took time to settle in.

However, some quick wickets meant they needed 44 runs off the last 3 overs to win. Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer took on the Chennai Super Kings bowlers to give Rajasthan Royals some hope of winning the match. With 12 runs required off the final over, Bravo dismissed the dangerous Stokes for 46 off 26 balls. Bravo then dismissed Gopal to give CSK a thrilling 8-run win.

For Rajasthan, Jofra Archer was the pick of the bowlers with two wickets while Jaydev Unadkat and Ben Stokes picked up a wicket each.


Related Posts