Connect with us


IPL 2017 : Raina, Karthik power Gujarat to 208/7



New Delhi, May 4 :  Crafty knocks by skipper Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik helped Gujarat Lions (GL) post a challenging 208/7 against Delhi Daredevils (DD) in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the Ferozeshah Kotla here on Thursday.

Raina (77) and Karthik (65) came to the crease when the visitors were reeling at 10/2 in the second over. But sensible innings from the duo helped Gujarat to get out of troubled waters.

Gujarat got off to a poor start as they lost swash-buckling openers Dwayne Smith (9) and Brendon McCullum (1) in the second over of the innings.

McCullum was the first one to depart. The New Zealand batsman got an outside edge off pacer Kagiso Rabada and Rishabh Pant then completed the rest of the formality by taking a superb catch.

Off the very next ball, Shabaz Nadeem did a brilliant job in the field, coming up with an accurate direct throw to dismiss Smith.

With the visitors reeling at 10/2, incoming batsmen Raina and Karthik then stepped up to tackle the situation and thrashed the Delhi bowlers all around the park.

The duo forged a brilliant 133-run partnership for the third wicket before Raina was run out by Rabada in the 14th over. A slight miscommunication between Karthik and Raina helped Delhi to break the partnership.

In-form batsman Aaron Finch (27) then joined Karthik and both batsmen tried to rev up the innings. But soon Karthik was sent back to the pavilion by pacer Pat Cummins.

While trying to play over mid-off, Karthik mistimed the ball and Correy Anderson took a stunning one-handed catch to dismiss the Delhi wicketkeeper.

With the score at 158/4 in 15 overs, middle-order batsman Ishan Kishan (4), who joined Finch, failed to click as he was also dismissed by Cummins in the 18th over.

With two overs remaining, Finch played some good strokes and he was also supported by Ravindra Jadeja (18) but just when things seemed good for the visitors, Finch was caught at fine leg. Wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant took a diving catch off Rabada to dismiss the Australian batsman.

James Faulkner was also dismissed in the last over by Corey Anderson. But then Jadeja finished off the things in style by slamming two huge sixes in the last two deliveries of the final over.

For Delhi, pacers Rabada and Cummins scalped two wickets each.

Brief scores: Delhi Daredevils 208/7 in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 77, Dinesh Karthik 65; Rabada 2/28) against Gujarat Lions.



Blind Cricket WorldCup 2018 : India beat Pakistan by 2 wickets

Blind World Cup 2018: The Indian cricket team won the blind world cup 2018 by beating arch-rivals Pakistan by 2 wickets in the final.




The Indian cricket team won the blind world cup 2018 by beating arch-rivals Pakistan by 2 wickets in the final. Chasing a target of 308 runs in 50 overs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE on Saturday, the Indian team reached there with 8 balls remaining.

It was India’s second title at the mega event as earlier they won World Cup, outclassing Pakistan at Cape Town, South Africa in December 2014. Batting first, Pakistan scored 308 runs with the help of Riyasat Khan and skipper Nisar Ali’s solid knocks who scored 48 and 47 runs, respectively after Pakistan was asked to bat first.

India, who are the defending champions, had also defeated Pakistan by seven wickets in their group match on January 13. Pakistan, on the other hand, entered the final after defeating Sri Lanka by 156 runs while India beat Bangladesh by seven wickets to book their place. India, who were favourites to retain the title, have remained unbeaten in this tournament.

The Pakistan Blind Cricket Council had also invited ICC CEO David Richardson, former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas and former Indian wicketkeeper Syed Kirmani to witness the final.

Continue Reading


U19 World Cup: India thrash Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in last group tie



India vs Zimbabwe u19 world cup

Tauranga (New Zealand), Jan 19: India crushed Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in a Group A clash to maintain their all-win record at the ICC U19 World Cup here on Friday.

India had already sealed a quarter-final spot with back-to-back wins against Australia and Papua New Guinea in Group B. It was another clinical performance on Friday as India ended the group stage unbeaten and unchallenged.

Left-arm apinner Anukul Sudhakar Roy spearheaded the Indian bowling effort with figures of 4/20 as Zimbabwe were dismissed for 154 runs in 48.1 overs.

Openers Harvik Desai and Shubman Gill then produced unbeaten half-centuries to carry India to victory in just 21.4 overs.

The Indian boys have thus finished the opening round at the top of Group A with six points after winning all their three matches.

Electing to bart first on winning the toss, Zimbabwe ran into trouble right at the start when their opener Gregory Dollar was bowled by Indian fast bowler Shivam Mavi in the third over.

The other Zimbabwe opener Wesley Madhevere was then involved in two partnerships with Dion Myers and Milton Shumba.

The trio did their best to keep the Indian bowlers at bay, but struggled to keep the run rate going.

Once the three of them had returned to pavilion, the batsmen in Zimbabwe’s middle and lower order were cleaned up by the Indian bowlers with four of them falling before reaching double figures.

Shumba was the highest scorer for Zimbabwe with 36 runs off 59 deliveries.

Apart from Roy, Arshdeep and Abhishek Sharma also bowled well, ending up with a couple of wickets each.

Desai and and Gill then put on an unbeaten opening stand of 155 runs to power the Indians to an easy victory.

Gill was Player of the Match, scored a quickfire 90 off 59 balls which was studded with 13 boundaries and a six.

Desai produced a steady 56 off 73 balls with eight boundaries an a six.

Brief scores:

India 155/0 (Gill 90*, Desai 56*) beat Zimbabwe (155 all out) by 10 wickets.


Continue Reading


Virat Kohli named ICC Captain and Cricketer of the Year



virat kohli

New Delhi, Jan 18: Indian captain Virat Kohli  had something to cheer about after the second Test debacle against South Africa when was named the ICC awards cricketer of the year, ODI player of the year and captain of the year as well, in both formats. 

The Indian batting mainstay is the leading run-getter in ODIs with 1460 in 26 innings at an average of 76.84 and strike-rate of 99.11, with six centuries – the most for any team. Kohli led India to the final of the Champions Trophy, ODI series wins over England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand and Test series wins over Bangladesh, Australia and Sri Lanka (twice).

Kohli regained the No 1 spot on the ICC rankings for ODI batsmen with 889 rating points, the best ever by an Indian cricketer.


Continue Reading

Most Popular