IPL 2016 : Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab

ipl 11-wefornews

It is a match-up between the bottom dwellers from the last season, but one of the two will be able to open their account in the points table as Delhi Daredevils lock horns with Kings XI Punjab at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi.punjab11-wefornews

Both Daredevils Delhi and Kings XI Punjab were looking for a revival of fortunes before the season began but failed to get going in their first games. Both the teams head into Friday’s game on the back of crushing defeats in their tournament openers, in contrasting fashion though. While Kings XI piled on 161 runs (against IPL newbies Gujarat Lions) but their bowlers fell short, Delhi’s batting imploded for 98 against Kolkata Knight Riders and the total was never going to be enough for Zaheer & Co. to defend successfully.punjab11-wefornews

Coming back to their home ground would be a confidence booster for Delhi Daredevils, however, their batting needs massive improvement. That the batting-heavy team could only scamper to a meagre total of 98 on a pitch which had no demons reflects very poorly on a side that is hoping to shrug off their tag as wooden spoon contenders.

Having gotten off to disappointing starts, both teams will be keen on breaking the duck and getting their campaign underway in Delhi.


Delhi Daredevils (From): Quinton de Kock(w), Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson, Pawan Negi, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Morris, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan(c), Sam Billings, Shahbaz Nadeem, Imran Tahir, Pawan Suyal, Jean-Paul Duminy, Jayant Yadav, Akhil Herwadkar, Mohammed Shami, Chama Milind, Pratyush Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Rishabh Pant, Khaleel Ahmed

Kings XI Punjab (From): Murali Vijay, Manan Vohra, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller(c), Wriddhiman Saha(w), Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Pardeep Sahu, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma, Farhaan Behardien, Rishi Dhawan, Kyle Abbott, Anureet Singh, Shardul Thakur, Swapnil Singh, Nikhil Naik, Shaun Marsh, Cariappa, Armaan Jaffer, Gurkeerat Singh Man

Wefornews bureau

Related Posts