Connect with us


INDvsAus 3rd Test: Smith steadies Australia after early blows



Skipper Steven Smith led the way with a half-century as Australia posted 194/4 in their first innings at tea on the opening day of their third cricket Test against India at the JSCA International Stadium here on Thursday.

Smith was batting on 80 runs with Glenn Maxwell on 19 at the other end when the teams came in for the tea break.

Fast bowler Umesh Yadav returned the figures of 2/54 while left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja and star off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin picked up a wicket each for India.

Australia were off to a rocky start, losing three wickets in the first session. Peter Handscomb joined Smith in the middle and the duo proceeded to try and bring the visitors back on track with a 51-run partnership.

The hosts suffered a scare when skipper Virat Kohli appeared to injure his shoulder while trying to save a boundary.

Handscomb had hit a Jadeja delivery wide of mid-on prompting Kohli to give chase. The Indian skipper dived in an effort to prevent the ball from crossing the boundary line and ended up hurting himself.

The incident forced Kohli to walk off the field to seek medical attention with Ajinkya Rahane acting as stand-in captain.

Umesh trapped Handscomb leg before with an in-swinging yorker a short while after the lunch break, to give India another breakthrough.

Smith and Maxwell then helped to steady the boat with an unbeaten 54-run stand.

Smith hit nine boundaries during his 161-ball stay in the middle while Maxwell — usually an attacking batsman — played cautiously, hitting only two boundaries in the 47 deliveries he has faced so far.

Earlier, electing to bat on winning the toss, the visitors were off to a brisk start with openers Matt Renshaw and David Warner maintaining a scoring rate of around four runs an over in the initial stage.

With both Umesh and Ishant persisting with a leg stump line, the Australian openers were able to find the gap at regular intervals. The Indian pacers did not get much help from the pitch which was a bit low and slow.

But the introduction of spinners Ravindra Jadeja and Ashwin into the attack helped to turn the tide for the hosts.

Jadeja struck the first blow when Warner lobbed a full toss back to the bowler.

That slowed down the scoring rate with Renshaw and Smith managing to score only 30 runs in around 13 overs before the former was dismissed by Umesh.

Renshaw tried to play a delivery which was just outside the off stump only to see the ball nick the outside edge on its way into the palms of Indian captain Virat Kohli in the slips.

Pujara then pulled off an excellent diving catch off Ashwin’s bowling to send back Shaun Marsh a short while later. The umpire had originally ruled Marsh not out but the Indians decided to call for the review which overturned the decision.

Brief scores:

Australia (First Innings): 194/4 (Steven Smith 80 batting, Matt Renshaw 44) vs India.

Playing Eleven of Team Australia for 3rd Test: David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Steve Smith (Captain), Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wadea, Steve O’Keefe, Nathan Lyon, Patt Cummins, Josh Hazlewood.

Playing Eleven of Team India for 3rd Test (Ranchi): Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma.



Blind Cricket WorldCup 2018 : India beat Pakistan by 2 wickets

Blind World Cup 2018: The Indian cricket team won the blind world cup 2018 by beating arch-rivals Pakistan by 2 wickets in the final.




The Indian cricket team won the blind world cup 2018 by beating arch-rivals Pakistan by 2 wickets in the final. Chasing a target of 308 runs in 50 overs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in UAE on Saturday, the Indian team reached there with 8 balls remaining.

It was India’s second title at the mega event as earlier they won World Cup, outclassing Pakistan at Cape Town, South Africa in December 2014. Batting first, Pakistan scored 308 runs with the help of Riyasat Khan and skipper Nisar Ali’s solid knocks who scored 48 and 47 runs, respectively after Pakistan was asked to bat first.

India, who are the defending champions, had also defeated Pakistan by seven wickets in their group match on January 13. Pakistan, on the other hand, entered the final after defeating Sri Lanka by 156 runs while India beat Bangladesh by seven wickets to book their place. India, who were favourites to retain the title, have remained unbeaten in this tournament.

The Pakistan Blind Cricket Council had also invited ICC CEO David Richardson, former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas and former Indian wicketkeeper Syed Kirmani to witness the final.

Continue Reading


U19 World Cup: India thrash Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in last group tie



India vs Zimbabwe u19 world cup

Tauranga (New Zealand), Jan 19: India crushed Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in a Group A clash to maintain their all-win record at the ICC U19 World Cup here on Friday.

India had already sealed a quarter-final spot with back-to-back wins against Australia and Papua New Guinea in Group B. It was another clinical performance on Friday as India ended the group stage unbeaten and unchallenged.

Left-arm apinner Anukul Sudhakar Roy spearheaded the Indian bowling effort with figures of 4/20 as Zimbabwe were dismissed for 154 runs in 48.1 overs.

Openers Harvik Desai and Shubman Gill then produced unbeaten half-centuries to carry India to victory in just 21.4 overs.

The Indian boys have thus finished the opening round at the top of Group A with six points after winning all their three matches.

Electing to bart first on winning the toss, Zimbabwe ran into trouble right at the start when their opener Gregory Dollar was bowled by Indian fast bowler Shivam Mavi in the third over.

The other Zimbabwe opener Wesley Madhevere was then involved in two partnerships with Dion Myers and Milton Shumba.

The trio did their best to keep the Indian bowlers at bay, but struggled to keep the run rate going.

Once the three of them had returned to pavilion, the batsmen in Zimbabwe’s middle and lower order were cleaned up by the Indian bowlers with four of them falling before reaching double figures.

Shumba was the highest scorer for Zimbabwe with 36 runs off 59 deliveries.

Apart from Roy, Arshdeep and Abhishek Sharma also bowled well, ending up with a couple of wickets each.

Desai and and Gill then put on an unbeaten opening stand of 155 runs to power the Indians to an easy victory.

Gill was Player of the Match, scored a quickfire 90 off 59 balls which was studded with 13 boundaries and a six.

Desai produced a steady 56 off 73 balls with eight boundaries an a six.

Brief scores:

India 155/0 (Gill 90*, Desai 56*) beat Zimbabwe (155 all out) by 10 wickets.


Continue Reading


Virat Kohli named ICC Captain and Cricketer of the Year



virat kohli

New Delhi, Jan 18: Indian captain Virat Kohli  had something to cheer about after the second Test debacle against South Africa when was named the ICC awards cricketer of the year, ODI player of the year and captain of the year as well, in both formats. 

The Indian batting mainstay is the leading run-getter in ODIs with 1460 in 26 innings at an average of 76.84 and strike-rate of 99.11, with six centuries – the most for any team. Kohli led India to the final of the Champions Trophy, ODI series wins over England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand and Test series wins over Bangladesh, Australia and Sri Lanka (twice).

Kohli regained the No 1 spot on the ICC rankings for ODI batsmen with 889 rating points, the best ever by an Indian cricketer.


Continue Reading

Most Popular