Indian Premier League: Past winners

Once again its the time when cricket stars put off their national jerseys and gear up to play for their franchises against each other. The time when international foes become brothers in arms and playing secrets are given away to franchise teammates.

It is the time for the Indian Premier League and a good time to look at the past champions.

2008: Shane Warne leads Rajasthan Royals to shock inaugural titleseason-1 ipl2-wefornewsThe first match of IPL 1 was played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings in the final at Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai on June 1, 2008. Australian leg-spin wizard Shane Warne proved that he is the best captain that Australia never had as he marshalled his resources extremely well. The match went all the way down the wire as Rajasthan clinched victory on the last ball of the match.

2009: Adam Gilchrist leads Deccan Chargers to gloryIPL-Season-2-Winner-wefornewsHeld in South Africa due to elections in India, Adam Gilchrist-led Deccan Chargers, who were the underdogs in the tournament, faced Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final of IPL 2 on May 24, 2009. Bangalore captain Anil Kumble took 4 wickets to restrict Deccan to 143/6 built around Herschelle Gibbs’ unbeaten 53. But none of the Bangalore batsmen put up a decent score as Deccan won the final by 6 runs.

2010: Rise of Chennai Super Kingsipl 3-wefornewsPakistani players were ignored because of the 26/11 attacks in Mumbai and the tournament began on March 10, 2010. After 59 matches, Chennai Super Kings met Mumbai Indians in the final at the DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai on April 25, 2010. Chennai emerged victorious by 22 runs to win their first IPL title.

2011: Chennai Super Kings win second successive IPL crownIPL-Season-4-4-wefornewsThe tournament began with defending champions Chennai Super Kings taking on Kolkata Knight Riders that was led by Gautam Gambhir at the Chepauk in Chennai. Chennai Super Kings won a thrilling match by 2 runs. After 70 matches, Royal Challengers Bangalore met Chennai Super Kings in the first Qualifying Final at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 24, 2011. Chennai Super Kings won their second successive IPL crown.

2012: Kolkata Knight Riders deny Chennai Super Kings title hat-trick
IPL-Season-4-4-wefornewsChennai Super Kings played their third successive IPL final and were hot favourites to win their third successive title at their home ground on May 27 against Kolkata Knight Riders. Ben Hilfenhaus dismissed Kallis in the 18th over. Shakib Al Hasan and Manoj Tiwary joined forces to take Kolkata Knight Riders to their first IPL title.

2013: Mumbai Indians win maiden IPL title

2014: Kolkata Knight Riders win their second IPL title
Manish Pandey played a belter of an innings to ruin Kings XI Punjab’s maiden appearance in an IPL final at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on June 1. Saha took the KKR attack by the scuff of the neck. Unfortunately, he got beaten by Pandey. Man of the match Pandey stole the show and the match from KXIP, much to the delight of a legion of KKR and gave KXIP an excellent total to defend.

2015: Mumbai Indians win second IPL title
IPL-Season-8-8-wefornewsChennai Super Kings faltered in an IPL final for the fourth time as they went down to Mumbai Indians by 41 runs in the summit clash at the Eden Gardens on May 24, 2015. Mumbai Indians thus joined Kolkata Knight Riders and CSK to become the third team to win the IPL twice.

Let see who is going to win this IPL Season 9, what do you think?

Wefornews bureau

Related Posts