India win by 50 runs in 2nd ODI against Australia

Sep 21, New Delhi: India incredibly achieve a 50-run win in second ODI against Australia at  Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday. 

Hosts sets the target of 253 runs, but tourists bowled out at 202. With this victory India take a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Virat Kohli led squad got fluent start, later it slow down as after 30th over it lost slew of wickets in a very short intervals including Captain Kohli and MS Dhoni.

Kohli-Rahane’s  fifty-fifty partnership and Kuldeep Yadav hatrick helped India to clinch the match splendidly.

However, Indian skipper Kohli was the highest scorer as he depart with a score of 92 and but missed the century. While Kuldeep Yadav by dismissing Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar and Pat Cummins became the third Indian player to take an ODI hat-trick.

Here are the updates : 

  • Hosts won the toss and skipper Virat Kohli opted to bat against Australia.
  • India opened with  Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma, while Pat Cummins began the proceedings for Australia.
  • Kohli led squad after 5 overs was at 19/0.
  • Host lost its first wicket of Rohit Sharma.
  • Men in blue was at 44 post 10 overs with loss of 1 wicket
  • Skipper Virat Kohli- Ajinkya Rahane consolidated India by clinching half century.
  • But soon after smashing fifty Rahane ran out for 54.
  • After 30 overs,India 148/3  with Virat Kohli and Kedar Jadhav on crease.
  • In 37th over, Kangaroos got a big wicket by dismissing Kohli for 92.
  • India was at 207, with 6 on stumps and Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar on crease after 40 overs.
  • David Warner and Hilton Cartwright commenced the innings for Visitors,  Bhuvneshwar Kumar opened the attack for India.
  • India got two wickets in  first 5 overs by dismissing Aussie’s opening batsmen.
  • Visitors after 10 overs was at 47 for two.
  • Post 20 overs Australia secured 102 runs with 3 wickets.
  • Australian squad were at 138 /5.

India Squad: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav.

Australia Squad: David Warner, Hilton Cartwright, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson

Wefornews Bureau 

Related Posts