India vs Pakistan, Champions Trophy 2017 : IND beat PAK by 124 runs


June 4, Sunday : India splendidly beat Pakistan by 124 runs on Sunday in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 opener match held at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Pakistan failed to chase the target of 324 runs, as India bowled out them in 33.4 overs.

Due to interruption of rain at frequent intervals the arch-rivals played match of 48-48 overs respectively.

Pakistan started their innings with Azhar Ali and Ahmed Shehzad, while Bhuvi Kumar began the proceedings for India.

After 5 overs,Pakistan at 22 with loss of  zero wicket.

At the end of 8th over Pakistan lost its first wicket of Ahmed Shehzad, while in 12th India got a big wicket of Babar Azam for 8 runs.

India ended their batting at 319 for 3 wickets , while skipper Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya remain unbeaten with a socre of 81 and 20.

At 39 overs , India lost its second wicket of Rohit Sharma for 91 runs, Yuvraj Singh joined Virat Kohli in the middle.

India after 36 overs at 189 for loss of one wicket with  Rohit Sharma 89* and Virat Kohli (C) 28* on crease.

After showcasing brilliant partnership of 136 runs with Rohit Sharma , Shikhar Dhawan was caught out by Azhar Ali and departed with a score of 68.

Indian openers began with a steady start as after five overs they were at 15 with loss of no wicket but later they performed splendid to mark 136 runs partnership.

Much awaited India vs Pakistan ICC Champions Trophy 2017 opener match began with India’s batting at Edgbaston, Birmingham on Sunday , after Pakistan won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Batsmen Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan started proceeding for India, while Mohammad Amir bowled first over for Pakistan.

At the end of first over India at 3 with no wicket loss. However, Indian openers began with a steady start as after five overs they were at 15 with loss of no wicket.

Later, after 9.5 overs rain interrupted the match, leaving India on 46 runs with  Rohit 25*, Dhawan 20 for no wicket loss.

India has won 11 matches against Pakistan in ICC tournaments till now and this time too Indian squads are in full swing to clinch victory in the maiden ICC Champions Trophy match.

This would be the fourth Champions Trophy game between the two arch rivals.

Indian Squad : Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Pakistani Squad : Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk/captain), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali.

Wefornews Bureau



Related Posts