India beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in 3rd ODI

india vs sri lanka

Pallekele (Sri Lanka), Aug 27  Riding on opener Rohit Sharma’s brilliant century, India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets to seal the five match One-Day International (ODI) series 3-0 here on Sunday.

Apart from Rohit (122 not out), former skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (61 not out) played a perfect support role at the other end after India’s top order got exposed with the scoreboard reading 61 runs for four wickets down in 15.1 overs.

With eight rus to win for India, the crowd hurled bottles on the field and as a result the umpires stopped play. But after players left the field, security persons got the stadium emptied and the umpires then decided to resume the match.

Sri Lanka Innings:

Niroshan Dickwella lbw b Jasprit Bumrah 13
Dinesh Chandimal c Jasprit Bumrah b Hardik Pandya 36
Kusal Mendis c Rohit Sharma b Jasprit Bumrah 1
Lahiru Thirimanne c Kedar Jadhav b Jasprit Bumrah 80
Angelo Mathews lbw b Kedar Jadhav 11
Chamara Kapugedera b Axar 14
Milinda Siriwardana b Jasprit Bumrah 29
Akila Dananjaya b Jasprit Bumrah 2
Dushmantha Chameera run out (Dhoni/Bhuvneshwar) 6
Vishwa Fernando not out 5
Lasith Malinga not out 1

Extras: (b 4, lb 7, w 8) 19
Total: in 50 overs 217/9

Fall of Wickets:
18-1 (Niroshan Dickwella, 3.4 overs), 28-2 (Kusal Mendis, 7.4), 100-3 (Dinesh Chandimal, 25.4), 138-4 (Angelo Mathews, 34.4), 159-5 (Lahiru Thirimanne, 39.3), 181-6 (Chamara Kapugedera, 43.6), 191-7 (Akila Dananjaya, 45.5), 201-8 (Milinda Siriwardana, 47.4), 210-9 (Dushmantha Chameera, 48.4)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 9-2-41-0
Jasprit Bumrah 10-2-27-5
Yuzvendra Chahal 10-0-49-0
Hardik Pandya 8-0-42-1
Axar Patel 10-1-35-1
Kedar Jadhav 3-0-12-1

India Innings:

Rohit Sharma not out 124
Shikhar Dhawan b Lasith Malinga 5
Virat Kohli c Dushmantha Chameera b Vishwa Fernando 3
Lokesh Rahul c Lahiru Thirimanne b Akila Dananjaya 17
Kedar Jadhav lbw b Akila Dananjaya 0
MS Dhoni not out 67

Extras: (b 0, lb 1, w 1) 2
Total: in 45.1 overs 218/4

Fall of Wickets:
9-1 (Shikhar Dhawan, 2.1 overs), 19-2 (Virat Kohli, 5.1), 61-3 (Lokesh Rahul, 13.5), 61-4 (Kedar Jadhav, 15.1)

Lasith Malinga 5-0-25-1
Vishwa Fernando 8.1-2-35-1
Dushmantha Chameera 10-1-59-0
Angelo Mathews 3-0-17-0
Akila Dananjaya 10-0-38-2
Milinda Siriwardana 9-0-43-0


Team Squads:

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(captain), Lokesh Rahul, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella(w), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera (c), Milinda Siriwardana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, and Lasith Malinga.

WeForNews Bureau

Related Posts