IIFA 2018: Irrfan Khan, Sridevi bag top honours, Tumhari Sulu best film

IIFA 2018 Sridevi irrfan khan vidya balan

Bangkok, June 25: Actor Irrfan Khan and late veteran actress Sridevi were named the Best Actors at the 19th edition of the IIFA Awards, for their remarkable work in films “Hindi Medium” and “Mom”, respectively.

At a grand event on Sunday here at the Siam Niramit theatre, a story of an ambitious and enterprising housewife, “Tumhari Sulu” bagged the Best Picture honour, while Saket Chaudhary took back the Best Director Award.

Late Sridevi’s husband-producer Boney Kapoor took the award for her performance in “Mom”. He was emotional as he received the award from actress Kriti Sanon.

“I dedicate this award to the entire team of ‘Moma’,” said an emotional Boney.

The award function also honoured late actors Vinod Khanna, Shashi Kapoor and Sridevi.

Vinod’s award was accepted by veteran filmmaker Ramesh Sippy. Rishi Kapoor took Shashi Kapoor’s award. While actor Anil Kapoor and Boney broke down in tears while talking about Sridevi at the gala.

Here’s a complete list of winners:

Best Film – ‘Tumhari Sulu’

Best Director – Saket Chaudhary (‘Hindi Medium’)

Best Actor (Female) – Sridevi (‘Mom’)

Best Actor (Male) – Irrfan Khan (‘Hindi Medium’)

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Female) – Meher Vij (‘Secret Superstar’)

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Male) – Nawazzuddin Siddiqui (‘Mom’)

Best Story – Amit V Masurkar (‘Newton’)

Best Music Direction – Amaal Mallik, Tanishk Bagchi and Akhil Sachdeva (‘Badrinath Ki Dulhania’)

Best Background Score – Pritam (‘Jagga Jasoos’)

Best Screenplay – Nitesh Tiwari and Shreyas Jain (‘Bareilly Ki Barfi’)

Best Dialogues – Hitesh Kewalya (‘Shubh Mangal Saavdhan’)

Best Choreography – Vijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani, (‘Galti Se Mistake’ from ‘Jagga Jasoos’)

Best Cinematography – Marcin Laskawiec and Usc (‘Tiger Zinda Hai’)

Best Editing – Shweta Venkat Mathew (‘Newton’)

Best Lyrics – Manoj Muntashir (‘Mere Rashke Qamar’ from ‘Baadshaho’)

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Meghna Mishra (‘Main Kaun Hoon’ from ‘Secret Superstar’)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Arijit Singh (‘Hawayein’ from ‘Jab Harry Met Sejal’)

Best Sound Design – Dileep Subramaniam and Ganesh Gangadharan (YRF Studios for ‘Tiger Zinda Hai’)

Best Special Effects – Ny Vfxwala (‘Jagga Jasoos’)

Best Style Icon of the Year – Kriti Sanon

Best Debut Director – Konkona Sensharma

Outstanding Achievement by an Actor in Indian Cinema – Anupam Kher

The 2000-seater Siam Niramit theatre saw thousands of Bollywood fanatics coming to the event to catch a glimpse of their favourite stars.

This year’s IIFA  saw Bollywood’s evergreen actress Rekha taking fans down the memory lane through her mesmerising performance after a hiatus of 20 years.

A string of A-listers like Ranbir Kapoor, Varun, Arjun, Kriti Sanon, Bobby Deol and Shraddha set the stage on fire with their power-packed and electrifying performances.


Related Posts