Himachal Pradesh Election Result 2017: BJP poised to take power,Dhumal loses from Sujanpur

himachal pradesh election results
himachal pradesh election results

Shimla, Dec 18: The BJP was set to take power in Himachal Pradesh with its candidates on a victory lap in 36 of the 68 seats in the Assembly elections.Whereas Congress has won 17 seats and leading on  3 other seats.

The party won its first seat by defeating Congress cabinet Minister Prakash Chaudhary on Monday.

On his defeat the BJP CM candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal said,”Personal loss is not of much importance.The gain that victory has brought to state BJP is important. Thankful to people of the state for voting for BJP. In politics, sometimes one wins, sometimes one loses. I was not expecting to lose, I will do an analysis.”

  • BJP’s Inder Singh Gandhi defeated Chaudhary from Balh in Mandi district with a big margin.
  • Rakesh Singha of CPM wins from Theog defeating Congress’s Vikas Rathore and BJP’s Rakesh Verma
  • Arjun Singh of BJP is leading by a significant margin of 21% over Congress’s Chander Kumar in Jawali.
  • Anirudh Singh defeats BJP’s Vijay Jyoti by a margin of over 9,000 votes in the Kasumpti seat.
  • Vikramaditya Singh of Congress wins from Shimla Rural, Dr. Pramod Kumar Sharma of BJP loses the seat
  • Anil Sharma of BJP wins from Mandi with 10885 seats defeating Congress’s Champa Thakur
  • BJP’s Ravindra Dhiman defeated Congress’ sitting legislator Yadvinder Goma from Jaisinghpur
  • Kishori Lal of the BJP defeated Bansi Lal of the Congress from the Anni seat.
  • BJP’s sitting legislator Suresh Bhardwaj retained his Shimla seat. He defeated Congress’ Harbhajan Bhajji.
  • Rohit Thakur of Congress wins Jubbal-Kotkhai by over 9000 votes defeating BJP’s Narinder Bragta.
  • BJP candidate Suresh Bhardwaj has been declared the winner of the Shimla constituency with 14,012 votes.
  • BJP’s chiefministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal loses from Sujanpur constituency, Congress’s Rajender Rana won the seat.
  • Virbhadra Singh won the Arki seat of Himachal assembly.
  • Virender Kanwar who won Kutlehar constituency, announces that he will give up his seat for Prem Kumar Dhumal.
  • Jai Ram Thakur of BJP wins from Seraj
  • Mukesh Agnihotri of Congress wins from Haroli
  • NOTA vote count is 0.9 percent and 29,021 for Himachal Pradesh

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh is leading from Arki constituency, by over 3,500 votes. Here are the numbers right now: the BJP leads in 40 seats, while Congress is up in 21 seats.

Trends from the other counting centres across the hill state showed the Congress was ahead in 22 constituencies, while the BJP was leading in 43 seats and smaller parties and independents had inched ahead in all others seats.

BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal trailing by 1709 votes from Sujanpur

The Bharatiya Janata Party needs 35 seats to control the Himachal Assembly.

State BJP spokesperson Ganesh Dutt told IANS: “We have crossed the half-way mark. This clearly indicates we are going to form the government in the state.”

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh (Arki) and his son Vikramaditya Singh (Shimla Rural) were, however, ahead of their BJP rivals.

State BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti and BJP Chief Ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal trailed to the Congress from Una and Sujanpur seats.

A total of 337 candidates contested the November 9 election. A total of 37,83,580 people voted in the hill state — a record 75.28 per cent polling.

The Congress and the BJP contested in all the 68 constituencies. Most exit polls had predicted the BJP’s return to power with a majority.

The state has alternately elected Congress and BJP since 1985. In 2012, the Congress won 36 seats and the BJP 26. Independents bagged six seats.


Related Posts