Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 : 65 percent voter turnout

Voting Day Haryana eleciton
Voting Day Haryana eleciton

Chandigarh, Oct 21 : Voting is underway for 90 seats of Haryana, where the Manohar lal Khattar of BJP is eyeing a second term due to divided Opposition as the main rival Congress is intact but small regional parties are going to spoil the percentage of votes for the two national parties.

“The voter turnout was 65 per cent with chances of likely increase in the final figures,” Chief Electoral Officer Anurag Agarwal told here.

Former Chief Minister and Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda said that Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) are not in competition.

Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 voting LIVE updates

BJP has sought votes on abrogation of Article 370 and 35-A in Jammu and Kashmir and nationalism as its core focus. Congress and the other parties in are contesting on specific issues of unemployment, farmers suicides, communal politics of BJP and economic slowdown of the country.

A scuffle and stone pelting between supporters of the Congress and the BJP was reported from Nuh town around 8.45 a.m. on Monday while voting was in full swing for Haryana Assembly elections, an official said.

Muslim-dominated Nuh district in Mewat has three Assembly constituencies — Nuh, Ferozpur Jhirka and Punhana and about five lakh voters. Nuh has close contest between BJP leader Zakir Hussain and Congress leader Aftab Ahmed. Both have represented the seat in the Haryana Assembly in the past.

Dushyant Chautala’s Jannayak Janta Party (JJP), a breakaway faction of the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), is hoping to perform better .

INLD which was the strong party under Devi Lal and Chautala, is fading away with time but will certainly cut votes of other parties.

The BJP-led by Khattar has set a target of winning 75 seats, while the Congress is hoping to recover from its rout and make a comeback in the state.

Among the early voters were Haryana Congress chief Kumari Selja, BJP candidate Sonali Phogat as well as wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt. Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar rides a cycle to the polling booth in Karnal. Haryana’s lone woman minister Kavita Jain also cast her vote in Sonipat. Ahead of voting, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar took to Twitter to encourage voters to “enrich the festival of democracy” by voting in large numbers.

In the first two hours, 6.04% voter turnout was recorded in Gurgaon, while Faridabad registered a turnout of 6.10 per cent. In Mewat, 10.24 per cent voting was recorded.

Related Posts