Government convenes all-party meet, Triple Talaq bill on agenda

Parliament of India
Parliament of India

New Delhi, June 16 : Ahead of the Parliament session, the Central government has called for an all-party meeting on Sunday to discuss the agenda for the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha, starting June 17.
Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav, and Thawar Chand Gehlot, leader of BJP in Rajya Sabha arrived at Parliament to attend the all party meeting .

During the meeting, the Narendra Modi-led NDA government will seek the support of the opposition parties to ensure smooth functioning of both the houses of the parliament.

President Ram Nath Kovind will address the joint sitting of both Houses on Thursday. The Economic Survey will be presented on the 4th of July and the Budget on the 5th of July.

On the first two days of the Budget session of the parliament, Protem speaker Virendra Kumar will administer the oath to newly elected members of the lower house. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be the first MP to take oath followed possibly by UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and then the members of the Union Cabinet.

The working hours of the 16th Lok Sabha were 40% lower than the average of all full-time Lok Sabha sessions. It was the second lowest by a House that completed a full term, according to a legislative watchdog report.

At the meeting, the government is likely to seek opposition’s support in getting crucial bills passed in the session including one on triple talaq, the bills likely to be introduced in Parliament are The Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Teachers Cadre) Bill and Aadhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill 2019.

Related Posts
Justice gogoi and Dipak misra cji
Read More

Chief Justice Misra recommends Justice Gogoi as his successor

Justice Gogoi is one of the four Supreme Court judges who had held the unprecedented press conference in January this year, raising concerns about the administration in the apex court, saying it was "not in order". The other three judges were -- Justice J. Chelameswar (now retired), Justice M.B. Lokur and Justice Kurian Joseph.