Goa may have hung assembly


Panaji, March 11: The beauty mole of India is heading for a hung assembly on Saturday. Major political parties Congress and BJP are leading on 10 seats each and have won 6 each till 1 PM.

Read More: Goa results Live: Neck to neck battle between BJP, Congress

The others have won 4 seats too, including 1 seat for MGP. AAP is yet to show a lead in any of the seats.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party suffered a major blow when Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar was defeated by Dayanand Sopte of the Congress at Mandrem by nearly 5,000 votes.

And at Poriem, former Chief Minister and Congress candidate Pratapsingh Rane defeated his BJP rival Vishwajit K. Rane.

The Congress, which was determined to oust the BJP after losing narrowly to it in the 2012 election, also led in six other constituencies.

BJP candidates won from Mapusa, Bicholim and Mayem and led in other four seats as Election Commission officials made known the results and trends from about 20 of the 40 assembly seats.

The Mapusa victor was Deputy Chief Minister Francis D’Souza, who defeated his Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) rival Vinod Phadke by 6,828 votes.

This is D’Souza’s sixth consecutive win in assembly elections. He is the senior most elected BJP legislator in the state.

Nationalist Congress Party’s Churchill Alemao won from Benaulim.

The Goa Forward and the MGP won one seat each.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which had made a determined bid to take power in the coastal state, could not win a single seat.

The same was the case with Goa Surakha Manch, formed by ex-RSS leader Subhash Velinkar who had the Shiv Sena as his ally.

Wefornews Bureau

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top