Finance Minister Arun Jaitley files nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls

Lucknow, March 12: Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Monday filed nomination papers for upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. 

Accompanied by senior Uttar Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders and ministers in the state cabinet, Jaitley filed the nomination papers in the central hall of the state assembly building.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named Jaitley and seven others for the eight seats.

The others leaders include Sakaldeep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, G.V.L. Narsimha Rao, Ashok Bajpayi, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar and Harnath Singh Yadav.

The ruling BJP has 28 extra votes and needs 37 to get its ninth candidate cruise through. It is already learnt to have won over four independents in the state assembly leaving it with just a few more votes needed for its 9th candidate.

The BSP has named former legislator Bhim Rao Ambedkar as its candidate while the SP has nominated actress-turned-politician Jaya Bachchan for the fourth time.

The verdict, if elections need to be held, will be announced on March 23.


Related Posts