Connect with us


Election Results: BJP leads in UP, Uttarakhand; Congress in Punjab, Manipur; neck to neck in Goa



Assembly Election 2017

New Delhi, March 11: The BJP cruised towards victory on Saturday in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand while the Congress brutally brushed aside the AAP in Punjab as officials counted the millions of votes polled in assembly polls. The Congress leadin in Manipur while it was neck and neck in Goa with the BJP.

Proving wrong fears of a hung assembly in Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party, its aggressive campaign led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, led in 274 of the 379 seats where counting trends were available after two and a half hours of vote count.

The ruling Samajwadi Party and its ally the Congress trailed at a poor second spot (75 seats) while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was gasping at 30 seats.

As celebrations erupted at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi and the BJP office in Lucknow, Congress leaders admitted that Uttar Pradesh was a huge setback but took pride in the showing in Punjab.

“It is a monumental setback. We are disappointed with Uttar Pradesh,” Congress spokesman Sanjay Jha said. Added Congress leader Sandeep Dikshit: “Our party is looking confused.”

BJP leader Yogi Adityanath told IANS: “Good work done by the Modi government and (BJP President) Amit Shah’s stragegy has paid dividends.”

Election officials and BJP leaders said that if this trend continued in Uttar Pradesh, the party could return to power in the country’s most populous state with more than 260 seats.

BJP candidates were on the road to victory in most major cities including Allahabad, Lucknow and Kanpur. Even in Amethi, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi’s Lok Sabha constituency, the BJP’s Garima Singh had forged ahead.

The Congress had reasons to smile in Punjab, where, defying most exit polls which had projected a neck-and-neck outcome, it was set to return to power. Its candidates led in 64 of the 117 seats.

A party needs 59 seats to gain a simple majority in Punjab.

The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP combine led in 28 seats, relegating the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which had been confident of taking power in the border state, to the third spot (25 seats).

While Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal led from Lambi over Amarinder Singh (Congress) and Jarnail Singh (AAP), his son and Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal trailed to AAP’s Bhagwant Mann in Jalalabad.

Counting of votes was also on for the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, vacated by Amarinder Singh in November.

Read More: Punjab results Live

The BJP was scripting a success story in Congress-ruled Uttarakhand too. BJP candidates led in a whopping 51 of the 64 seats where counting trends were available, pushing the Congress to a poor second spot (12 seats).

Incumbent Chief Minister Harish Rawat was trailing, officials said.

In Manipur, the ruling Congress led in 16 of the 28 constituencies, followed by the BJP in 11.

CM Ebobi wins.

In Goa, the Congress and the BJP were locked neck and neck. Out of the 21 seats where trends were available, the Congress and BJP candidates led in nine and eight seats respectively. Smaller parties led in four places.

CM Parsekar loses.

The assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Goa and Punjab were the largest democratic exercise since the 2014 Lok Sabha polls — and the BJP was determined to prove a point.



Madhya Pradesh By-Polls: Set back to BJP, Congress bags 20 wards of 24 in Raghogarh



Bhopal, Jan 20: The Congress party showcased an enthusiastic fight in the Madhya Pradesh civil polls by clinching nine president posts in 19 civic bodies on Saturday, tying the Bharatiya Janata Party, which too, won nine top posts. 

Meanwhile, giving a major setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress bagged 20 out of 24 wards in Raghogarh Nagar by-elections. Whereas the BJP won only four wards.

However , the Congress has been in control of the Raghogarh-Vijaypur Municipal Council for the last two decades.

The results are seen as a morale boost for the Congress as the party is planning to go all out against the BJP in the upcoming assembly elections , which slated to held later this year.

Municipal Council elections took place on January 17 in Five districts – Dhar, Barwani, Khandwa, Guna, and Anuppur.

The counting of votes begun at 9 am and ended in the afternoon.


Continue Reading


EVMs to have candidates’ pictures




Jaipur, Jan 19: The Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will carry pictures of candidates along with their names — when by-elections are held in Rajasthan on January 29.

According to Chief Election Officer Ashvini Bhagat, this has been done to ensure there was no confusion if there were two candidates with the same name.

According to the new arrangement, the EVMs will have the name of the candidate, his or her picture and the election symbol.

Bhagat said although this experiment was done in the Dholpur Assembly by-election, it hasn’t been done anywhere in a Lok Sabah election.

Lok Sabha by-polls are scheduled in Ajmer and Alwar on January 29 while Assembly elections will be held the same day in Mandalgarh.


Continue Reading


Assembly elections: Tripura to vote on Feb 18, Meghalaya, Nagaland on Feb 27; results on March 3



New Delhi, Jan 18: The Election Commission on Thursday announced  the schedule for Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland assembly elections. 

While addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti said Tripura will vote on February 18, 2017. While polling in Meghalaya and Nagaland will take place on February 27 (Tuesday).

Counting for all the three states will be conducted on March 3, 2018. The results will be declared on the same day.

A total strength of  the three assemblies is 60 members each.

Election to the three states to be held in two rounds.

The term of the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura legislative assemblies will end on March 6, March 13 and March 14 respectively.

Announcing the poll schedule, Chief Election Commissioner informed  VVPATs and EVMs will be used in the three states for the very first time.


Continue Reading

Most Popular