EC orders re-polling in two polling stations in West Bengal

2019 Election India

New Delhi, May 11: The Election Commission of India (EC) has declared the voting held on May 6 at polling station no-116 in Barrackpur parliamentary constituency and polling station no-110 in Arambag parliamentary constituency of West Bengal, as void.

The re-polling will be held at the two booths on May 12 from 7 am to 6 pm.

“After taking all material circumstances into account, the Election Commission of India hereby declares under Sub-Sections (2) of Section 58 of clause (b) under the Representation of the People Act, 1951 that the poll taken on May 6, 2019, for the aforesaid election at following polling stations (polling station no-116 in Barrackpur and polling station no-110 in Arambag) to be void,” the poll panel said in its order to Chief Electoral Officer of the West Bengal.

Seven constituencies of West Bengal went to polls in the fifth phase on May 6.

The counting of votes will be held on May 23.


Related Posts