East Bengal bag record seventh straight Calcutta Football League title

east-bengal cfl

Kolkata, Sep 15: City football giants East Bengal created history on Thursday by winning the Calcutta Football League (CFL) for the seventh consecutive time.

They bettered their own record of winning it six times straight from 1970 to 1975.

The red and gold brigade scraped past Mohammedan Sporting 1-0, courtesy a goal from their South Korean striker Do Dong Hyun at the Kalyani stadium.

However, from a technical point of view, a win would not have been enough for the Richard Dryden coached team to win the league. But Mohun Bagan did their foes a favour by going down on home ground to Tollygunge Agragami 0-1 during the day’s other match.

With the Indian Football Association (IFA), Bengal football’s governing body, yet to declare its verdict for Mohun Bagan’s derby match no-show, East Bengal have now moved to 24 points from eight games.

Mohun Bagan remained on 19 points from eight outings.

Both the teams have one game in hand, but the results of those matches have now become inconsequential.

East Bengal take on Aryans while Mohun Bagan play against Mohammedan Sporting in their tournament ending matches.

East Bengal’s final points kitty may now climb to 27, as they are likely to bag three points due to Mohun Bagan’s refusal to play the derby match.

East Bengal have so far won the CFL title 38 times.(IANS)


Related Posts