DUSU Election Result 2018: Counting halted for the day

DUSU Elections

New Delhi, Sep 13: After the electronic voting machines stopped working, the vote counting of Delhi University Students’ Union elections suspended for the day. 

The vote counting began at 8 am in the morning, later it was disrupted twice due to malfunctioning of the EVMs.

However, after six rounds of counting as held. As per the trend, NSUI’s Sunny Chhillar took a lead on the top spot and Shakti Singh ABVP on the post of Vice President.

NSUI’s Aakash Chaudhary is ahead in the race for the post of Secretary and ABVP candidate Jyoti Chaudhary for the post of joint secretary.

The polling was conducted for morning colleges in both North and South Campus colleges between 8.30 a.m and 1 p.m. while polling for evening colleges commenced at 3 p.m and continued till 7.30 p.m on Wednesday.

This year, around 2 lakh students voted to elect students to the posts of president, vice-president, secretary and joint secretary.

The polls saw a voter turnout of 44.46 per cent and there are 23 candidates in the fray.

After a poor performance in 2015, the student wing of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), has joined the fray this year by joining hands with leftist group All India Students’ Association (AISA), affiliated with CPI-Marxist-Leninist.


Related Posts