Connect with us


DMs of violence-hit MP districts transferred



Mandsaur protest

New Delhi, June 8: The District Magistrates of three violence-hit Madhya Pradesh districts — Mandsaur, Ratlam and Neemuch, were also transferred on Thursday morning amid growing agitation by the farmers.

A circular issued said Mandsaur DM Swatantra Kumar Singh has been replaced by Shivpuri DM O.P. Shrivastava, while B. Chandrashekhar has been replaced by Tanvi Sundriyal in Ratlam.

In Neemuch, Kaushlendra Vikram Singh was named the new DM replacing Rajneesh Shrivastava.
Bhupendra SinghThe member of Parliament HM Bhupendra Singh also claimed that the death of the 5 farmers was due to Police firing. It has been established in the probe.

On Thursday, toll plaza vandalised in Mandsaur, Rs. 8-10 lakhs looted.

The Central government on Wednesday pressed five more battalions of paramilitary forces to Madhya Pradesh’s Mandsaur following fresh violence erupted as protesting farmers indulged in arson, a day after at least five farmers were killed in police firing.

According to the official sources, five more battalions of the Central Reserve Police Force and Rapid Acton Force have been sent to Mandsaur in addition to five battalions of paramilitary forces already present there.

They cited that state government had sought additional central forces.

The farmers have been on strike since June 1, demanding loan waiver and fair price for their produce.

On Tuesday, the agitating farmers resorted to violence, pelting stones at police in Mandsaur district. In retaliation, police opened fire at the farmers’ mob, leaving five dead, according to the official count, and eight according to farmer leaders.

Violence erupted again on Wednesday as the protesting farmers indulged in arson with hundreds defying the curfew in Mandsaur.

A group of farmers also marched to a police station in Dewas district and set fire to vehicles parked there.

 Wefornews Bureau


Delhi fire: Rohini Duty Magistrate sent factory owner to one day judicial custody



Delhi Bawana Fire
Delhi Bawana Fire

New Delhi, Jan 21: The owner of a plastic factory here where a major fire killed 17 persons has been arrested, police said on Sunday.

Manoj Jain was taken into custody on Saturday night after a brief interrogation after the police filed an FIR against him, Deputy Commissioner of Police Rajneesh Gupta said.

“We apprehended Jain as the factory was owned by him and a Lalit Goel,” he said.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday ordered a thorough probe into the tragedy and announced an ex-gratia of Rs 5 lakh to the next of the kin of the deceased.

As many as 17 people, including 10 women, were burnt to death or asphyxiated and 30 others injured in a fire in a plastic warehouse in west Delhi’s Bawana on Saturday evening, officials said.

The Chief Minister said it will be probed how licence was given to the establishment and who gave it and also how the incident happened.

Delhi Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Manoj Tiwari also announced a compensation of Rs 50,000 each to the victims of the incident.

Officer Gupta said the fire in Bawana Industrial Area was reported to the Police Control Room around 6.20 p.m., following which 10 fire tenders rushed to the spot. The blaze was doused after three hours.

According to Gupta, crackers were packed in the factory and there was only one exit which led to so many deaths.

The victims were trapped in the basement and the first and second floors when the fire spread from the basement to the floors above, the officer said.

He said seven of the deceased were women aged between 20 and 35 years.


Continue Reading


8 killed, 2 injured in Jharkhand road accident



Dumka road accident

Dumka (Jharkhand), January 21: Eight people died and two others were injured on Sunday in a collision between two vehicles in Jharkhand’s Dumka.

The victims are residents of Rasikpur in Dumka who were travelling to Deoghar to take a competitive examination.

According to media reports, a speeding truck rammed into the vehicle and after the incident, the driver fled from the spot. The police officials believe the accident took place because of dense fog early in the morning.

People who have lost their life in this road accident has been identifed as- Sushmita Dutta, Sourav Datta, Santosh Gupta, Ambika Prasad Turi, Purushottam Manjhi, Navin Gorai, Swastik Kumar, Devendra Gupta

An investigation is underway.



Continue Reading


Delhi government orders probe into Bawana warehouse fire, announces ex-gratia



Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal (File Photo)

New Delhi, Jan 21: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday ordered a thorough probe into the Bawana plastic factory fire incident that claimed at least 17 lives and announced an ex-gratia of Rs 5 lakh to the next of the kin of the deceased.

As many as 17 people, including 10 women, were burnt alive or asphyxiated and 30 others injured at a fire in a plastic warehouse in west Delhi’s Bawana on Saturday evening, officials said.

“It is a very tragic incident. We have ordered a probe into the incident,” Kejriwal told reporters after meeting the injured people at a hospital here. He said the injured will get an ex-gratia of Rs 1 lakh.

The Chief Minister said the matter will be fully probed on how the licence was given, who gave the licence and how the incident happened.

Union Minister Harsh Vardhan, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Manoj Tiwari and Leader of Opposition in Delhi assembly Vijender Gupta and North Delhi Municipal Corporation Mayor Preety Agarwal also reached the spot.

Manoj Tiwari also announced compensation of Rs 50,000 to the victims of fire incident.

“Saddened at the loss of 17 lives in the Bawana cracker factory fire. My thoughts are with the families of the persons killed in the mishap,” Harsh Vardhan said in a tweet.

He also said that the government should “enforce strict safety regulations to such hazardous industries” to avoid at least future accidents.

“Seventeen bodies have been taken out from the warehouse. As many as 30 persons, including some women, have reportedly sustained burn injuries. Some others are still feared trapped inside,” a Delhi Fire Services officer said, adding that the condition of four persons is critical.


Continue Reading

Most Popular