DMK gives 41 seats to Congress

DMK Congress

Chennai, April 4 : The Congress announced on Monday that it will contest in 41 of the 234 assembly constituencies following a seat-sharing agreement with the DMK.

Congress leader and former union minister Ghulam Nabi Azad told the media that he was confident that DMK president M. Karunanidhi will be able to form a government in the state after the May 16 election.

DMK treasurer M.K. Stalin added that the DMK-led alliance was confident of winning the elections “as people want a change”.

The deal between the two parties concluded in the second round of talks. Now the parties in the DMK alliance will have to decide the constituencies each of them will contest.

The Congress had demanded 63 seats, the number allotted to it in 2011. But the DMK offered only 41 seats.

Earlier, the DMK concluded seat sharing arrangements with three parties -Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), the MMK and the SSP.

The DMK has allotted five seats each to the two Muslim parties IUML and MMK and one seat to SSP.

Related Posts