Delhi Metro shuts down 6 stations amid CAA protests

Delhi Metro

New Delhi: Delhi Metro has shut the entry and exit gates at six Metro stations in north-east Delhi and announced on Tuesday that trains will not be halting at these stations.

On Tuesday afternoon, Metro Rail Services at Seelampur, Gokulpuri, Jaffrabad and Maujpur-Babarpur, Johri Enclave and Shiv Vihar were suspended after protests over the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) turned violent in north-east Delhi.

The services at these metro stations were suspended as violent protests erupted in Seelampur over the CAA.

Tuesday’s violence follows in the wake of protests at Jamia Nagar where the protestors turned violent and set several buses on fire.

Related Posts