Connect with us


CT 2017, India Vs South Africa : IND stun SA by 8 Wickets



India Vs South CT 17

June 11, Sunday : With flamboyant batting and bowling skills India beat South Africa by 8 wickets to enter into semi finals of ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Splendidly chasing the target of 192 runs, now Virat Kohli- led team India will face Bangladesh in the Semi Finals.

Opening batsman Shikar Dhawan and Skipper Kohli helped India to finish off the match in just 38 overs.

However was an eventful day for Virat Kohli-led team as first they bowled out South Africa for 191 in 44 overs, later Indian batsmen showcased thier excellence on the crease in must win clash at The Oval and nailed it in the do-or-die clash of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Group B match on Sunday at The Oval.

With this 8 wicket victory, India knock out South Africa from the competition.

As Both teams had one point apiece in Championship, as India defeated Pakistan but witnessed a lost to Sri Lanka, while South Africa beat Sri Lanka before loosing to Pakistan.

Here are the updates : 

  • In the semi final decider match India won the toss and elected to field against South Africa.
  • South Africa began its iconic clash with de Kock and Amla on the crease. While Bhuvneshwar started proceeding for India.
  • AB de Villiers-led side started their innings cautiously as after first 10 overs they were at 35 without any loss of wicket.
  • India got first wicket of South Africa after so long in 17th over  by dismissing Hashim Amla for 35 runs.
  • After 20 overs South Africa at  94 for 1 with rate run of  4.70.
  • Soon after smashing half century, Q de Kock bowled out for 53.
  • South Africa after 30 overs at 145/4 with du Plessis and Duminy on the crease.
  • With loss of six wickets RSA after 40 overs with a score 178.
  • Virat Kohli-led side bowled out South Africa for 191 runs in 44.3 overs.
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar and  Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets each.
  • India began with openers  Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, while Rabada opened the attack from South Africa.
  • Virat-led squad lost its first wicket of Rohit Sharma in fifth over.
  • After Captain Kohli joined Dhawan on the crease.
  • India after 10 overs at 37 with loss of one wicket
  • After 20 overs , India for 90  for 1.
  • India’s score in the end of 30 overs was 151 with 1 on stumps.
  • South Africa got its second big wicket of Dawan for 78 runs.
  • On drinks, India were at 30 runs away from making its spot in last four. Most probably it will face off with Bangladesh at Edgbaston.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, David Miller, JP Duminy, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir



Ranbir Kapoor to host prelude to IPL Finale



Ranbir kapoor

New Delhi, May 21: Bollywood star Ranbir Kapoor will host a two-hour prelude to the Indian Premier League (IPL) finale. Others joining the celebrations will include Salman Khan, Jacqueline Fernandes, Kareena Kapoor Khan and Sonam Kapoor Ahuja.

Cricket Finals…Party Toh Banti hai will be followed by the VIVO IPL 2018 grand finale on Star India Network on 27 May.

Fans have so far been enjoying the commentary in six languages – Hindi, English, Tamil, Telegu, Bengali and Kannada. In an attempt to reach out to more cricket enthusiasts across India, Star Pravah and Asianet Movies will carry Marathi and Malayalam broadcasts respectively for the first time in IPL history.

The Marathi language broadcast will have Madhuri Dixit-Nene and Swapnil Joshi joining the celebrations. The prelude will see a melange of performances and fun-filled interactions with celebrities. Additionally, actors Ravi Dubey , Gaurav Sareen, Aakriti Sharma and Deshna Dugad will amplify the entertainment quotient of the finale.

The Dugout on Star SAill continue to cater to core cricket fans, giving a predictive and prescriptive analysis will be Dean Jones, Scott Styris, Anil Kumble, Kumar Sangakkara, Darren Sammy, Brett Lee and Mike Hesson.


Continue Reading


IPL 2018: Chennai’s win over Punjab sends Rajasthan Royals into playoffs




Pune, May 21: Chennai Super Kings knocked out Kings XI Punjab from the play-offs race of the Indian Premier League (IPL), outplaying them in the last league match by five wickets here on Sunday.

In order to qualify for the play-offs, Punjab had to win this game by 53 runs or more but the visitors failed in doing so and thus got knocked out of the play-offs. With this result, Rajasthan Royals became the fourth team to progress to the next stage with 14 points. Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai are the other three teams.

Put in to bat, Chennai bowlers did a fantastic job to bundle out Punjab for 153.

After that, Suresh Raina (61 not out), who played sensibly throughout the innings and Deepak Chahar (39) along with other batters helped Chennai to complete the chase in the 19/1 overs. Chennai got off to a bad start, losing opener Ambati Rayudu (1) in the second over. After adding 24 runs to the total with new batsman Suresh Raina (61 not out), opener Faf du Plesis (14) also departed in the fifth over. In the same over, Sam Billings (0) was also sent packing by Ankit Rajpoot.

After five overs, Chennai were reeling at 27/3. Harbhajan Singh was sent up the order. The move also paid little as the off-spinner scored 19 runs in 22 balls which included two boundaries and one six. But in the 11th over, Harbhajan was dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin. New Batsman Deepak Chahar (39) and Raina then joined hands and forged a crucial 56-run partnership to steady the Chennai innings. But just when things seemed good in the middle, Chahar was sent back to the pavilion by Ashwin in the 17th over when scoreboard was reading 114.

Unperturbed by the fall of wickets, Raina kept on playing sensibly and completed his half century. New Batsman and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (16 not out) then joined Raina in the middle and completed the proceeding with ease.

Earlier, a quickfire lower order cameo by Karun Nair helped Kings XI Punjab post a modest 153. Coming into bat when Punjab were in a spot of bother at 76/4 in the 12th over, Nair plundered 54 runs off 26 balls to breathe life into the innings. The right-hander produced an exciting display of power hitting, smashing three boundaries and five towering sixes.

The Chennai bowlers came out all guns blazing at their adopted home ground to bundle out the visitors for a modest total. Lungi Ngidi was the wrecker-in-chief for the yellow brigade with stunning figures of 4/10 from his four overs.

Brief scores: Kings XI Punjab: 153 all out in 19.4 overs (Karun Nair 54, Manoj Tiwary 35; Lungi Ngidi 4/10) vs Chennai Super Kings:159/5 (Suresh Raina 61 not out; Ankit Rajpoot 2/19)


Continue Reading


IPL 2018: Delhi knock out Mumbai from play-offs



delhi chennai ipl

New Delhi, May 21: Delhi Daredevils ended Mumbai Indians chances of qualifying for the Indian Premier League (IPL) play-offs with a 11-run victory at the Ferozshah Kotla here on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 175 runs, Mumbai were all out for 163 in 19.3 overs.

Sandeep Lamichhane, Harshal Patel and Amit Mishra took three wickets each for Delhi.

Brief scores:

Delhi Daredevils: 174/4 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant 64, Vijay Shankar 43 n.o.) vs Mumbai Indians: 163 in 19.3 overs (Evin Lewis 48; Sandeep Lamichhane 3/36, Harshal Patel 3/28, Amit Mishra 3/19)


Continue Reading

Most Popular