Counting of votes for high-stakes Karnataka Assembly Election tomorrow

Bengaluru, May 14: Counting of votes for crucial Karnataka Assembly Election will commence at 8 am on Tuesday.

In one of the most bitterly fought polls in recent times, the voting for 222 of the 224 seats took place on May 12.

Amid tight security and heightened vigil, the assembly elections witnessed around 70 percent voter turnout.

Several exit polls have predicted a neck and neck fight between the Congress and the BJP.

Of 224 assembly seats, a party needs at least 113 MLAs to form the rule the state.

A total of 2,654 candidates are in the fray. More than 15 lakh people were first-time voters in the 18-19 age group.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded 223 candidates, while the ruling Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) have fielded 222 and 201 seats respectively.

Polling in Bengaluru’s Raja Rajeshwari Nagar segment has been postponed to May 28 over fake voter ID cards row and countermanded in the city’s Jayanagar seat following the demise of BJP contestant B.N. Vijaya Kumar on May 4.


Related Posts