Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar wins Panaji by-poll

Manohar Parrikar
file photo

Panaji, Aug 28: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar wins Panaji by-poll with a margin of 4,803 votes.

The BJP is leading in Goa’s two assembly constituencies, Panaji and Valpoi, at the end of the first round of vote counting, election officials said.

I will resign from Rajya Sabha next week, said Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar after winning Panaji by-poll.

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Monday won the Panaji assembly by-election by 4,803 votes.

Parrikar, who polled 9,862 votes, beat his nearest rival Congress’ Girish Chodankar, who netted 5,059 votes. Anand Shirodkar of the Goa Suraksha Manch came a distant third polling 220 votes.

In Valpoi, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Vishwajit Rane is leading from his Congress rival Ravi Naik by 2,242 votes.

Poll officials said that counting was likely to be completed by 10 a.m. followed by the announcement of the winners.

Nearly 75 per cent voting was recorded during the August 23 by-polls in Goa, with 22,196 and 28,868 votes cast in Panaji and in Valpoi assembly constituencies respectively.

The by-poll in Panaji was necessitated after Parrikar’s return to state politics in March as Chief Minister.

Sitting BJP MLA Sidarth Kuncolienkar resigned from the Panaji seat, enabling Parrikar to contest for the state capital constituency.

In Valpoi, the by-polls were held following the resignation of Rane as a Congress MLA. He subsequently joined the BJP and the cabinet as Health Minister.


Related Posts