Congress wins in Karnataka’s Nanjangud​, Gundlupet by-polls


Bengaluru, April 13, 2017: In a major setback to BJP, the ruling Congress on Thursday won the Nanjangud seat and Gundlupet segments in Karnataka where by-elections were held on Sunday.

As per sources, Congress’ Kalale N Keshavamurthy wins from Nanjangud with a margin 21334 votes against former BJP minister V Srinivas Prasad in Nanjangud.

In the adjacent Gundlupet constituency, M.C. Mohan Kumari alias Geetha of the Congress was ahead by 4,650 votes of the BJP’s C.S. Niranjankumar after nine rounds of counting.

The by-election from the two assembly constituencies in the old Mysuru region was held on April 9. A record turnout of 78 per cent voters was registered in Nanjangud and about 80 per cent in Gundlupet.

Wefornews Bureau

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top