Connect with us


Congress releases 4th list for Madhya Pradesh, fields Chouhan kin



Sanjay Singh Masani

New Delhi, Nov 7 (IANS) The Congress On Wednesday released its fourth candidate list for the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections fielding BJP Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s brother-in-law Sanjay Singh Masani.

The party has named 29 nominees, including Masani, who recently joined the Congress. He will be contesting from Waraseoni constituency in Balaghat district.

The Congress thus far has announced 213 nominees for the 230 assembly constituencies which vote on November 28.

The Congress is seeking to oust the BJP government which is in power for the last 15 years.


Telangana polls: Congress moves EC over pink ballots



Election Commission

New Delhi, Nov 22 : The Congress on Thursday approached the Election Commission (EC) seeking withdrawal of pink ballot papers pasted on EVMs for the Telangana Assembly polls contending that the colour was associated with the ruling TRS and voters may get influenced.

In its memorandum to the EC, the Congress pleaded for withdrawal of a direction to procure 9 lakh pink ballot papers for the December 7 Assembly elections.

“Pink is the official colour of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), it is synonymous with the party. The usage of pink coloured ballots without doubt, will give the TRS an undue advantage over other contesting parties,” the Congress said in the memorandum.

“The EC is tasked with the conduct of free and fair elections under the Constitution. We are certain that it will agree as this is an important issue that needs immediate redressal. Party colours are of great significance for representation and its ideologies, inter alia, they also create a bias in the mindset of the voters,” it said.

The party also pointed out that during the recently concluded Greater Hyderabad Municipal polls, TRS had objected to the proposal of electronic voting machines having a pink button to designate the “NOTA” or “None of the Above” category vote, saying their voters would mistake the button “for the TRS and press the NOTA button inadvertently”.

“So great is the TRS’ association with the colour that they acknowledged the electoral harm that any confusion would cause them,” said the Congress seeking immediate withdrawal of the direction to procure pink ballot papers.

The state Congress has also challenged the decision before Chief Electoral officer Rajat Kumar.

However, the state’s top poll panel official has said the pink-ballot papers pasted on EVMs were in accordance to the provisions of the Representation of People Act.

Continue Reading


BJP wins five of seven Mayor seats in Uttarakhand

Of the 39 Nagar Palika chairman’s results, the BJP and independents have won 10 each and the Congress 13.



bjp corporate donations

Dehradun, Nov 21 : Uttarakhand’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won five of the seven Mayor seats in the state. The Congress won two.

Officials on Wednesday said the BJP had won in Haldwani, Rudrapur, Rishikesh, Kashipur and the state capital Dehradun’s while the Congress emerged victorious in Haridwar and Kotdwar.

Voting for the 84 urban local bodies, 39 Nagar Palika councils and 38 urban Panchayats was held on November 18.

The maximum seats of councillors were won by independents, followed by the BJP and Congress. Of the total 1,064 seats, results for 817 have been announced. Independent candidates have won 464, the BJP 215 and the Congress 132.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won two seats and the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) have won one seat each.

Of the 39 Nagar Palika chairman’s results, the BJP and independents have won 10 each and the Congress 13.

Of the 38 Nagar Panchayats, the BJP has bagged 18, Congress 6 and independents 12.

Continue Reading


Chhattisgarh Assembly Poll: Voting for second phase concludes, 72 % turnout recorded



Raipur, Nov 20: Amid heavy security, voting for the second and last phase for 72 seats spread across 19 districts to elect a new Chhattisgarh Assembly, was held on Tuesday.

Polling for the concluding phase saw more than 60 per cent of the over 1.5 crore electorate casting their votes to elect a new Assembly.

A total of 1,079 candidates are in the fray, and both Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are contesting all the 72 seats. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is in the fray for 25 seats and its ally and former Chief Minister Jogi’s Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) is vying in 46 seats.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has also pitched candidates in 66 constituencies.

An electorate of more than 1.5 crore, including over 77 lakh male and over 76 lakh female voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise. There are around 1,000 voters from the third gender.

The first phase of polling, which was held on November 12, witnessed 70 per cent of voter turn out.


64.8 % voter turnout recorded till 5 PM

45.2 % voting recorded till 3 PM

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh casts vote

12.54% voting recorded till 10 AM 

Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC) President Ajit Jogi, his son Amit Jogi cast their votes

Visuals from Ambikapur

Visuals from Pendra in Bilaspur

Visuals from a polling station in Kabirdham district’s Kawardha

Continue Reading

Most Popular