Congress’ Ramesh Kumar elected as Speaker of Karnataka Assembly

Bengaluru, May 25: Congress leader Ramesh Kumar unanimously elected as Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly on Friday.

The development comes after the BJP withdrew S Suresh Kumar’s candidature for the Speaker’s post.

BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa announced the decision in Karnataka Assembly. He said, “We withdrew (nomination of BJP candidate) as we wanted the election to be unanimous in order to maintain the dignity of the Speaker’s post”.

“To all Opposition leaders, I want to express my gratitude to have ultimately decided to make it a unanimous election. It is quite rare to have a unanimous candidate like this,” said Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy after  Kumar was elected as Speaker in the Vidhana Soudha.

Meanwhile, Addressing the Speaker, Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara stated “I had said Speaker’s post is an apolitical one. Let us felicitate you (KR Ramesh Kumar) with unanimity. I’m thankful to the BJP leaders and S Suresh Kumar for having agreed to the decision”.

“We have seen you as a straightforward politician. You are a role-model and inspiration to all of us. Your earlier experience, we have seen you conduct the proceedings of the House with rules and regulations is a model for us, and for the entire country”, he added.


Related Posts