Congress, NCP leaders hold meet to finalise seat sharing formula

ashok chavan

March 11 : The Congress-NCP meeting was held at NCP leader Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil’s residence in Mumbai to chalk out the election strategy and the seat sharing formula for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Congress leaders Prithviraj Chavan, Naseem Khan, Ashok Chavan and NCP leaders Jayant Patil, Ajit Pawar, Chhagan Bhujbal took part in the meeting.

Of the total 48 seats in the state,Congress had fielded political contenders for 27 constituencies in Maharashtra, while the Pawar-led NCP had contested on 21 seats during 2014 polls.

Earlier, the seat sharing was fixed at 26:22, but later the NCP decided not to contest from the Hatkanangale constituency as it did not had any contender. This seat was later contested by the Congress

The Election Commission of India, on Sunday, announced a seven-phase schedule for the Lok Sabha elections, 2019. Maharashtra will have elections in four phases, including all the seats in Mumbai which will go to polls in the last phase on April 29.

While voters of seven constituencies will exercise their right in the first phase on April 11, voters of 10 constituencies will elect their MPs in the second phase on April 18.

Another 14 seats will go to polls in phase 3 that will be held on April 23, while elections in phase 4 will be held on April 29 in 17 seats.

Related Posts