Connect with us


Congress appoints observers for 13 districts in Delhi



New Delhi, Mar 15 : The Congress today appointed observers for 13 districts of the national capital which is heading for municipal polls on April 22.

Kuldeep Bishnoi, an MLA from Mandi Adampur in Hisar district of Haryana and an ex-MP, has been appointed as observer for Kirari district while Jitu Patwari, an MLA from Rau constituency in Madhya Pradesh has been appointed as the observer for New Delhi and Karol Bagh districts.

Dr MD Jawad, an MLA from Bihar, Dr Akhilesh Singh, a former MP and MLA from Bihar, Ramlal Jat, an MLA from Rajsthan and K N Tripathi, a former minister from Jharkhand have been chosen as observers for Chandni Chowk, Karawal Nagar, Mehrauli and Rohini respectively along with many others.

Delhi Congress chief Ajay Maken had yesterday written to Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and the State Election Commission, seeking use of ballot papers in the MCD polls.

He also said that he has written to the city police commissioner, seeking filing of FIR against the then mayors of three municipal corporations alleging “carelessness and corruption” on part of the civic bodies that led to death of 409 people from dengue in 2015.


Brisk polling for Madhya Pradesh by-polls



Bhopal, Feb 24: Brisk polling was witnessed in  Madhya Pradesh’s two key assembly constituencies  – Mungaoli and Kolaras on Saturday.

Poll percentage of 69 percent and 58.90 percent recorded by 3 p.m. in the contests seen as a battle royale between the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress.

A total of 22 candidates from Mungaoli in Ashoknagar and 13 from Kolaras are in the fray.

As many as 2,44,457 voters from Kolaras and 1,91,009 from Mungaoli were eligible to vote between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Around 3,000 poll officials are conducting the process at 575 polling stations, the EC official said.

However, the EVM at Kolaras’ booth number 57 were not functioning at the time of reporting and people were waiting outside the booth since morning to cast their votes.

“I have been standing in the queue for the past one hour, voting has not started since the EVM is not working” complained a local at Kolaras.

Ahead of the by-elections in two state assemblies of Madhya Pradesh, senior Congress leader Randeep Surjewala levied strong accusations on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

He blamed the BJP of murdering the democracy by meddling with the electoral process of the state and influencing the poll results.

Meanwhile, voting also began for Ludhiana Municipal Corporation elections in 95 wards.


Continue Reading


Voting begins for Ludhiana MC poll



Ludhiana MC Poll
People waiting for their turn to vote (Photo ANI)

Chandigarh, Feb 24: Voting began for the biggest municipal body in Punjab, the Ludhiana Municipal Corporation (MC), on Saturday morning.

Voters started queuing up before 8 a.m., when the voting officially started. The voting will continue till 4 p.m., election officials said.

A total of 494 candidates are contesting for the 95 municipal wards. Results will be announced on February 27.

The main fight is between the ruling Congress, the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP) alliance and the Aam Aadmi Party-Lok Insaf Party alliance.

There are over 10.5 lakh voters in Ludhiana. 1,153 polling stations have been set up for voting.

Civic issues like water supply, lack of cleanliness, pollution, bad roads and infrastructure and poor sewerage are the main issues for common people in the election.

Tight security arrangements were in place on Saturday for the smooth conduct of the polling process.

The Congress, which runs the government in Punjab since March 2017, had won the municipal elections in the municipal corporations of Amritsar, Jalandhar and Patiala in December.

The Congress party had also emerged victorious in 20 out of 29 Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats.


Continue Reading


Election for 58 Rajya Sabha seats on March 23

The term of 58 Rajya Sabha members is due to expire in April and May this year.




New Delhi, Feb 23 : Biennial election for 58 seats of Rajya Sabha from 16 states will be held on March 23, the Election Commission announced on Friday.

While the last date of nomination is March 12, counting of votes for all seats will be held on March 23, it said in a statement.

The term of 58 Rajya Sabha members is due to expire in April and May this year.

The retiring members include 10 from Uttar Pradesh, six each from Bihar and Maharashtra, five each Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, four members from Gujarat and Karnataka while the number is three each for Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha and Rajasthan.

Two members will retire from Jharkhand while Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand have one retiring member each.

Also, bye-poll for a seat from Kerala will be held on March 23 due to resignation of M.P. Veerendra Kumar.

Continue Reading

Most Popular