Chhattisgarh Assembly Poll: Voting for second phase concludes, 72 % turnout recorded


Raipur, Nov 20: Amid heavy security, voting for the second and last phase for 72 seats spread across 19 districts to elect a new Chhattisgarh Assembly, was held on Tuesday.

Polling for the concluding phase saw more than 60 per cent of the over 1.5 crore electorate casting their votes to elect a new Assembly.

A total of 1,079 candidates are in the fray, and both Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are contesting all the 72 seats. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is in the fray for 25 seats and its ally and former Chief Minister Jogi’s Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) is vying in 46 seats.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has also pitched candidates in 66 constituencies.

An electorate of more than 1.5 crore, including over 77 lakh male and over 76 lakh female voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise. There are around 1,000 voters from the third gender.

The first phase of polling, which was held on November 12, witnessed 70 per cent of voter turn out.


64.8 % voter turnout recorded till 5 PM

45.2 % voting recorded till 3 PM

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh casts vote

12.54% voting recorded till 10 AM 

Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC) President Ajit Jogi, his son Amit Jogi cast their votes

Visuals from Ambikapur

Visuals from Pendra in Bilaspur

Visuals from a polling station in Kabirdham district’s Kawardha

Related Posts