Check out the three levels of ‘No Fly list’ for unruly passengers


New Delhi, Sept 8: No unruly behaviour will be tolerated from now onwards as the Union Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju has released a ‘No Fly list’ that bans unruly passengers from domestic air travel from three months to two years or beyond depending on the level of offense.

The No-Fly list will be governed by three level offences as tweeted out by the Civil Aviation Minister.

Level 1 – Unruly physical gestures, verbal harassment, and unruly inebriation. The punishment for this offence will be a ban on flying for the flyer up to three months.

Level 2- Physically abusive behaviour specified as – pushing, kicking, hitting, inappropriate touching will garner a ban on flying up to six months.

Level 3- Life threatening behaviour by the flyer such as – assaults, damage to aircraft systems etc. will be punitive with a ban on flying up to two years.

Earlier this year, the government had announced to draft rules for a national ‘no-fly list’ following consultations from the public and the industry stakeholders on the guidelines.

The draft guidelines followed Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad’s misbehaviour with an Air India employee in March. Gaikwad was barred from flying by all domestic airlines before the ban was revoked.

After the incident, the flag carrier had placed a ban on flying the Shiv Sena MP.

Other private air passenger carriers’ also imposed a similar ban on the Shiv Sena MP which was subsequently lifted on the advice of the Civil Aviation Ministry after Gaikwad expressed “regrets” in the Lok Sabha over the March 23 incident.

Currently, rules only enable airlines to refuse to board or off-loading of a passenger whose behavior is deemed as unruly or disruptive to the safety of flight operations.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts