Bypoll results: Counting begins in 4 Assembly seats of Dantewada, Badharghat, Pala, Hamirpur

EVM strong room
Katihar: Security personnel stands guard outside a strong room where Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) are kept after the second phase of 2019 Lok Sabha polls, in Bihar’s Katihar, on April 19, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

New Delhim Sep 27 :The counting of the votes in Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), Badharghat (Tripura), Pala (Kerala), Hamirpur (UP) assembly constituencies began at 8 am. The results will be declared later in the day.

In the Naxal-affected seat of Dantewada, the polling was conducted on September 23. Elections in the Chhattisgarh constituency were necessitated after sitting BJP MLA Bhima Mandavi died in a Maoist attack in April.
The election in Tripura assembly seat was held after the death of ruling BJP MLA Dilip Sarkar in April. BJP’s Mimi Majumder and Bulti Biswas from CPI(M) are the main contenders of this seat.

Around 1,27,939 people cast their votes in Kerala’s Pala assembly seat on August 23 clocking a healthy polling percentage at 71.48%. Just a day before counting, BJP suspended its Pala Assembly constituency president Binu Pulikandam ahead of the voting on Friday. The constituency recorded 71.48% voter turnout.

According to agency reports citing poll officials, postal ballots will be taken up for counting first, followed by EVMs. The process will conclude after 20 rounds. The voting will also be verified with Voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT).

Related Posts