By-polls result: Congress wins in Puducherry; BJP in MP


New Delhi, Nov 22, 2016: In a major achievement, chief minister V. Narayanasamy was on Tuesday elected to the Puducherry assembly, winning the Nellithope seat by 11,144 seats.

Narayanasamy trounced his nearest AIADMK rival by 11,144 votes by securing 18,709 votes.

The by-election was held on Saturday following the resignation of Congress member John Kumar so that Narayanasamy could contest and continue as the Chief Minister.

Narayanasamy did not contest the assembly polls of May 2016. However, the Congress chose him as the Chief Minister.

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP won the by-poll from the Nepanagar assembly constituency and was leading in the Shahdol Lok Sabha seat.

Bharatiya Janata Party’s Manju Dadu won from Nepanagar by 42,198 votes, defeating Antar Singh of the Congress.

The by-polls were held on Saturday. Shadol and Nepanagar registered 66 per cent and 73 per cent voting respectively.

 Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts