By-Polls 2018 Results: Opposition throws Challenge for BJP ahead of 2019 general election

Representational Image

New Delhi, May 31: The by-poll results to 10 Assembly and 4 Lok Sabha constituencies were announced on Thursday.

The verdict could be seen as a major challenge for the Bharatiya Janata Party as it has won one Assembly seat and one Lok Sabha seat.

The Lok Sabha seats include Kairana in Uttar Pradesh, Palghar, and Bhandara-Gondiya in Maharashtra and the sole parliamentary constituency in Nagaland.

While the Assembly consituencies includes Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Shahkot (Punjab), Jokihat (Bihar), Gomia and Silli (Jharkhand), Chengannur (Kerala), Palus Kadegaon (Maharashtra), Ampati (Meghalaya), Tharali (Uttarakhand) and Maheshtala (West Bengal).

The biggest shock for the BJP came from high-stake Kairana — a seat the BJP won in 2014 — where the opposition had fielded a common candidate.

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) candidate Tabassum Hasan, backed by the Congress, the SP and the BSP, defeated the BJP’s Mriganka Singh in Kairana in Uttar Pradesh by more than 55,000 votes.

In Palghar Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra, the saffron party win came in a triangular fight in which the candidate of its sulking ally, the Shiv Sena, cornered a considerable chunk of votes. BJP’s Rajendra Gavit defeated Shiv Sena’s Srinivas Wanga by over 29,500 votes.

Among the 10 assembly seats where by-polls took place last Thursday, the BJP clinched just one in Uttarakhand while the Congress won Punjab’s Shahkot, Karnataka’s RR Nagar and Meghalaya’s Ampati that made it the single largest party in the northeastern state.

The Trinamool Congress attained victory in the West Bengal’s Maheshtala seat. While the CPI-M candidate won in Kerala’s Chengannur.

In a setback for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, RJD defeated the ruling BJP and JD-U’s joint candidate in Bihar’s Jokihat assembly seat where it was more of a battle of prestige for the former allies – the RJD and the JD-U. RJD’s Shahnawaz Alam beat a JD-U candidate by over 41,000 votes.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha wrested both the Assembly seats of Silli and Gomia in the state.

The NCP won the Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha constituency, by defeating the BJP candidate Hemant Patle.


Related Posts