BS Yeddyurappa sworn-in as Karnataka Chief Minister

BS Yeddyurappa, Oath

Bengaluru, May 17: BJP’s legislature party leader B.S. Yeddyurappa took oath as the Karnataka Chief Minister on Thursday. 

Amid tight security Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office to Yeddyurappa in the ‘Glass House’ of Raj Bhavan.

Yeddyurappa, sworn in Kannada in the presence central and state leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party and newly-elected legislators and senior officials.

Meanw3hile the Congress , JD(S) staged protest against BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Earlier in the day, a three-judge bench of the Supreme Court refused to halt the swearing-in of Yeddyurappa as the Chief Minister and said it is subject to the final outcome of the matter before it.

The Congress late on Wednesday aproached the Supreme Court seeking late night hearing of its plea challenging Karnataka Governor Vajubhai R. Vala’s decision to administer oath to BJP legislature party leader B.S. Yeddyurappa on Thursday morning at the Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru.

During the proceedings, that started at 2.20 a.m. and concluded with the court passing order at 5.30 in the morning, Attorney General K.K. Venugopal was asked to bring the letters which the court was told are with the Karnataka Governor.

The bench headed by Justice A.K. Sikri, while seeking Yeddyurappa’s response on the petition by Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) seeking to stall his swearing-in, has directed further hearing of the matter at 10.30 a.m. on Friday.


Related Posts