BJP suffers setback in UP, RLD wins Kairana; Samajwadi Party wrests Noorpur


Lucknow, May 31: The ruling BJP in Uttar Pradesh on Thursday witnessed major setback as Rashtriya Lok Dal won Kairana Lok Sabha constituency and the Samajwadi Party wrested the Noorpur assembly seat in the crucial by-polls ahead of general elections 2019. 

Rashtriya Lok Dal’s (RLD) Tabassum Hasan marked the victory by defeating BJP candidate Mriganka Singh.

Hasan has been supported by the Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Congress and the regional Nishad Party in the by-election which was held on Monday.

While in Noorpur, SP’s Naeem-ul-Hasan polled 94,866 votes, against 89,188 obtained by his nearest rival, Avni Singh of the BJP in the bypoll to the assembly constituency in Binore district.

By-Elections in Noorpur was necessitated by the death of sitting BJP legislator Lokendra Singh in a road accident in February, were held on Monday and had seen a 57.31 per cent turnout amid glitches in EVM-VVPATs. Repolling took place in several booths on Wednesday.

The BJP had fielded his widow Avni Singh in an attempt to gain the electorate’s sympathy but the party’s gamble failed miserably as the opposition closed ranks in favour of the SP candidate.


Related Posts