BJP now the biggest party in Rajya Sabha

rajya sabha-wefornews

New Delhi, Aug 4, 2017: The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has become the largest party in the Rajya Sabha on Thursday when Madhya Pradesh tribal leader Sampathiya Uikey took oath, taking the number of BJP lawmakers to 58, one more than the Congress.

Uikey was elected unopposed in a by-poll for the Rajya Sabha seat held by union minister Anil Madhav Dave, who died in May this year.

This is the first time since Independence that the BJP has more MPs than the Congress in the 245-seat Upper House although BJP-led government still do not have a majority.

As of Friday, the BJP has 58 MPs, followed by the Congress (57), Samajwadi Party (18), AIADMK (13), Trinamoool Congress (12) and JD(U) (10). The Left and other smaller parties have single-digit MPs.

However, the BJP and its allies have a big majority in the Lok Sabha after they swept the Lok Sabha election three years ago, the government has struggled to push through reforms and legislation in the Rajya Sabha because it is in a minority.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts